help exchange   Host 3838
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Athlone
All Year: from the end of january
Area (ha): 1/2 hectare maybe
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3838
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 18, 2019

hello helpers
looking for help ASP
please read this profile fully before sending me a personal message :)
Do you know that hosts can see how many messages you send, how long the messages are and to who you sent them to! (we cant see the messages though) if you send a lot of messages the same day this tells hosts a lot about how serious you are in your request to come :)

last minute requests suit me fine, i don't plan too far ahead.
i have a little 3 year old girl called Alma and she will be staying with me a few days a week (normally on weekends). if you are good with kids its a plus.

i am looking for people who i would like to spend time with. someone with enthusiasm,common sense and the ability to do sometimes physical manual work.
artistic and creative helpers are extra welcomed.

basically i am looking for someone who wants to learn by doing and is not afraid of work.
i enjoy having helpers but i prefer helpers who are interested in what i am doing are and are Eco conscious
I have helpxed myself in Sweden, France, UK and a few places in Ireland. It's a great way to experience new places. I am a member of couchsurfing if you want to know more about me, see my web links above.
my ex partner Claudia who used to live with me (she is mentioned in some of the reviews) now lives 1.5 km away.we are on good terms with each other and she will be around from time to time also.
i spent two years studying on a Permaculture and have experimented with hugelkultur (1m high raised beds) , swales,forest gardening fruit and nut orchards and any other interesting ideas i can come up with.
You would sleep in a bed in your own room.
i like to eat food that i grow myself so the food will be good quality (mostly home grown and organic) and mostly vegetarian.you will need to cook also.
The nearest village is about 1km away and it has a shop and 3 pubs.our neighbour also has helpers so they normally meet with our helpers and end up hanging out a bit.
The work:
depends on what’s happening during your visit.
i have lots of different things i want to do and will try to make it as interesting as possible for helpers, doing what you are good at. There is always some gardening (yes, including weeding:-) and general looking after the place.
if you practice meditation i would like some company in kick-starting my practice again.
If you are creative or artistic, we would love for you to do something interesting around the place.
I have some nice paintings and mosaics helpers have done. If you want to experiment with something, i.e. small building stuff, green woodworking then you could do that here also.
I carve spoons, (a lot of helpers leave with there own spoon they made themselves) make walking sticks and do a little wood turning on a pole lathe using green (unseasoned)wood.


wi also use a compost toilet.
Everyone has a lot more to learn so hopefully you can teach us something new also,
if you are interested feel free to ask any questions :)

thanks for reading this far,

Paul

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use