help exchange   Host 38623
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Montagut i Oix
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 38623
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 20, 2019

Hi there!
We are Stendert & Maria. We run a quite wild campsite were the pitches have lots of space and shadow. Offering our guests getting a full experience to be in the "midst-of-nature" while camping.
We live in a Catalan country house called Masia, since now quite some years, that dates from the 16th century. Stendert, born '51, originally is from Breda, Holland, and Maria, born '66, is from Stockholm, Sweden, where her parents once had arrived from... Spain. We enjoy very much to live here in the countryside surrounded by hills, forests, and rivers. Halfway to the sea and half-way to the high mountains of the Pyrenees. Apart from running, during the summer months, the "wild" campsite we also have some tourist -apartments.

Our family is composed of our daughter Saskia born '02 and Stendert's son-Luuk, born '93. We are accompanied by some donkeys, several cows, and cats. The mother of Maria, Maria Socorro, born in 1928, lives in an elderly home close by.

Our original professions are of the most diverse; Maria studied interior design and artistic glass techniques and Stendert studied to become a tropical agronomist and later carpentry. Probably this multifaceted mixture connects us with many diverse interests and activities, especially the maintenance of our place with its forest, animals, and agro-tourism.

We hope to be able to combine these aspects of us and such make your stay as pleasant and memorable as possible. And useful for both parties. Together, we speak 7 European languages and understand some few more. We have during the years had several experiences with volunteers and are used to be clear about what we expect from you as well as showing patience to the one that stays and works here. We like very much to tell you about our favorite places and help you out for more personal advice.

We prefer stays that are at least a month long or longer though you can always check if you could come for a shorter stay. If you would come to July-August, then the tasks are mainly public service towards tourists and the stay is 6 weeks. The lodging will mainly be a tent, that we can provide with own pitch.

The maintenance & building welcomes always professional skill-full people
Gardening: especially knowing how to use a brush-cutter, grass cutting, plant care, general maintenance of camp pitches.
Forest cleaning = use of the chainsaw, cutting trees, cutting wood for heating
Helping with tourists - some general public relations
General maintenance - painting, cleaning, cutting, fixing, handling...etc...
Animal caregiving food to donkeys, cows, dog
Help with computers - the computer universe is immense, SEO, marketing

If coming in winter or any colder period; Lodging in the main house in a shared bedroom for two with central-heating & shared bathroom. Moreover, there is a big shared living room with a kitchen with a wood-stove for private use. You will have to count to take care of the heating and the firewood...in the case you wish to heat up.
If you would come during a warmer period: Several caravans and a mobile home for a couple or more.
All the accommodations are separate units. This means you can have your own independent life, coming and going as you wish. We will provide essential basic food storage. Cozy, pleasant and simple living... surrounded by nature.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use