help exchange   Host 39004
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 220
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39004
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 17, 2020

The Ranch is located 1 hour S.W. of Calgary, with a terrific view of the Rocky Mountains.
All the wildlife that you can imagine, live in this area.
The chores here are varied.
At this time of year, the main jobs are looking after the animals, snow removal and making things from the wool from the sheep. So if you enjoy making things with your hands, you will enjoy it here. For guys: Experienced chainsaw and saw maintenance are welcome skills. Basic construction skills are also welcome for small projects.
Preparing and maintaining the garden in the summer months. landscaping skills will be helpful in the springtime.
I have 2 Horses, that require some attention. Feeding and maintaining their pastures.
The small chicken house requires daily cleaning, feeding and collecting of eggs.
When the hay is ready for harvesting, there are a few longs days of collecting and stacking the bales. It is always a race with the weather, to get the bales into the barn before we get hit with a rainstorm.
Fixing and improving fences, and corrals is an on going project.
Cleaning & cooking is something we all share, depending on who is busy doing what, and who is better at what.
I have been a Host of Wwoof for the last 6 years, and have found that it has been most beneficial for everyone to enjoy a minimum stay of 3 weeks. Longer is always better. It takes about 2 weeks to get familiar and comfortable. The time afterwards is when you are able to learn, share, make decisions and enjoy some part of living a local life.
The accommodation here is either shared or private, depending on how many we are. In the summer, there is also a cabin.
The maximum total guests I can have, is 3, and that is when there are projects that require more help. The usual is 1-2 helpers.
When ever possible, I try to mix people from different countries, because I know everyone that is travelling is looking to improve their English.
I prefer to accept visitors that are willing to eat everything. It keeps things simple in the kitchen, and the compatibility in food seems to also go into the work. We eat well here, as I like good food and enjoy cooking. I enjoy eating other peoples food too. The majority of the meat eaten here is moose, elk, deer and lamb.
I am always looking for self motivated, conscientious, happy, open minded people, that are willing to help and maintain a clean environment. I expect an average of 6 productive hours per day. We work together on the schedules, work, and hours, to make sure everyone gets to do the things they want to do, as well.
When checking on availability, please include a photo of your self, if you don't have one in your profile.
I look forward to your inquiry.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use