help exchange   Host 39111
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 6.5
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 39111
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 6, 2018

Summer time in Melbourne :) A lot is happening on the farm!

I am a young farmer called Paul in my 30s that is currently operating a market garden on 16 acres in the Keilor valley, just 22km from the Melbourne CBD! I grow seasonal vegetables organically, and I supply them to various restaurants and retailers in Melbourne, as well as holding stalls at farmers' markets on the weekend. I've been farming here for almost 3 years now, and am implementing and experimenting with various methods of farming.

The beautiful Maribyrnong River runs along the border of the property, and there are many cockatoos here too! There are a few farmhands that work on various days throughout the week, so there is always someone to learn from and have a cuppa with. We rise early in the morning and eat a hearty farm lunch together. As you can imagine, there is a plethora of beautiful organically grown vegetables to eat for our meals! People have enjoyed cooking with really fresh produce and notice real a difference in taste.

Accommodation is quite basic on the farm, in an old shed converted into an apartment or a cosy caravan. We use a simple shower and toilet. The bus stop is a short walk up the hill, and using the bus and the train you can connect with Melbourne independently on your days off.

There are also lots of books to read during your down-time, under the trees by the river :) We recently bought a few board games too and we're currently installing a shed cinema and ceiling suspended day bed. Farm work is quite physical so these activities help to balance life here.

At the moment we need some help from September, through summer and for the beginning of autumn. I usually ask helpers to work 4 days per week and take 3 off, though we usually have flexibility if people want to make short trips away.

See you soon, Paul

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use