help exchange   Host 39167
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39167
Country: Turkey

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 16, 2020


We are a family, living in Izmir in Turkey. We have two sons. The bigger one is 8 years old and the little one is 5 years old. We are looking for a bigger sister to them who knows German/French or English and also talkative (chatterbox) :) Because we hope to improve their language skills.They already know English & German and know basic French.

Both of them go to a german nursery (between 7:30 am to 17:30 pm) so they can already understand German and English. They like playing chess, drawing pictures, listening/telling stories (esspecially about dragons, dinosaurs and pirates.. ) So at the evenings and weekends we would like you to spend time with them, doing language practice to help them become fluent. So actually it is not a Real babysitting or childcare position, it is a teaching pozition.
In the weekdays; because of during the day kids will be in the nursery, we don`t expect anything from you until 18:00pm. But we need help from 18:00pm to sleeping time. (sleeping time is usually 21:30 / 22:00) and also we need you at the weekends. but we can be flexible too if you want to travel some places in Turkey for 1 or two days in the weekdays.

I and my husband are both pharmacist. In summers we like travelling, camping, cooking, baking, eating and shopping:) ( aspecialy at the weekends we like to go to the beaches, mountains, pleateaues.. )Nowadays we like gardening also. We have an olive garden in Urla. There are 58 olive trees and 15 fruit trees. Also we try to grown our own vegetables at there and last 2 weeks we are building a tiny house:)) In Winters we usually prefer to being at home and play with kids..

Our house is only 100m away to subway stop. We are very close to seaside too, It takes nearly 10 minutes to go seaside by walking.

We don`t smoke.

If you come to live with us; you will have your private bedroom. You will have Wi-Fi.. We usually cook fresh traditional foods at home, you can be with us at all meals and also you can cook :)

At the sametime I can teach you my mother tongue (turkish). I am interested with drama, orff, stories, games, puppets...etc. I usually use all of them in our teaching, so I hope you can learn easly and with fun...
I can teach you cooking jams, home made pasta and tomato sauce, canning eggplant and beans, preparing olives..

We have already hosted volunteers and teachers before and if you want we could get references from all of them.

NOTE: boys don`t go to nursery in the summers. For july and august we need help esspecially in the mornings nearly 5 hours. But sure then you will be free about your own programme.

NOTE: From the beginning of September we would like you to spend time with them in the weekends. In the weekdays; because of during the day they will be in the nursery, we don`t expect anything from you until 18:00pm. But we need help from 18:00pm to sleeping time. (sleeping time is usually 21:30 / 22:00)

Izmir is a nice city with seashore and historical places. It’s the third biggest city in Turkey. We live in city center. Our house is only 2 minutes to subway stop and 10 minutes to seaside by walking. At the seaside you can rent and ride bike.. There are many bars, clubs, site-seeing, resaurants, shopping, bazaars, etc in Izmir. The weather is usually sunny. Urla/Seferihisar are 30 minutes or çesme/Alaçati is 1 hour or Kusadasi 1,5 hour far to us. Also Efes and Sirince is so close to Izmir. If you like history and villiages I guess you will have fun. You can go Bodrum easly for weekends. if you want to go to Kios (a nice Greek Island) from Çesme it takes 15 minutes by ship.(and it is also cheap). If you want to go Samos (Anoyher Greek Island) you can get a feryy. (It is also cheap) One weekend you can go to Pamukkale, Kapadokya or Istanbul. We can help you about bookings.

If you want to learn real local life, you are welcome. We can tell you a lot of things about Turkish families/culture/ educationandhealth system/history/social life..etc. All of us are talkative so you can easily learn Turkish from us. We are enthusiastic about learning English and German. Because of we love eat; you can learn a lot of new Turkish food recipes. We like travelling. If you want to join us you are welcome to come also. We are usually camping at the beachs. Izmir is a cheap city So if you want to travel around turkey (For example Greece islands) or in Turkey (For example Kapadokya) you can jump from here for the weekends. Our a lot of volunteers have done it. We can help you with booking. And if you are travelling for a long time, get tired and need a warm family house; you are also welcome..

When you come to stay with us; you will have a private bedroom. You will have Wi-Fi.

We usually cook fresh tradationel foods at home and at the same time try new different tastes. You can be with us at all meals and also you can cook :)

Nowadays we are building a tiny house in our olive garden. We have 58 olive trees and a few fruit trees in there. So if you prefer you can help us about the gardening and building too.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use