help exchange   Host 39812
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 01.5
Persons: 6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39812
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 19, 2015

I am refurbishing an old farm house in the countryside I have a large garden well planted. My house is close to the Normandy Invasion beaches in the USA sector, and is 30 miles away from Cherbourg from where I could pick up Helpx volunteers. I am an older retired English Projects Director, amicably divorced with an adult family.

I would like help with the gardening and some light renovation, eg, painting and helping me to renovate.
The last man was her fro 5 days I showed him around the museums' and beaches but as it is so quiet her he has left.
The accommodation provided is in the main house, a double bed in each of the two bedrooms and a single bed in one of the double bed room. There is another 3rd bedroom that needs some clearing up but that would only take a day or so.

If you are travelling alone then a room will be yours. I live separately in the attached one bedroom flat. I will be happy to provide three meals each day, either for vegetarians or non-vegetarians. And use of the washing machine and dryer on wet days.

My village is small but I will be happy to provide transport to the nearest town Carentan, which is on the main train line to Paris and Cherbourg the channel port, when any volunteers wish to move on, after their time helping me. I am prepared to be very flexible about free time to explore the area in proportion to the amount of time worked.

I am also willing to consider any age group of volunteer. I can provide Broadband internet with web-cam and wi-fi, so as you can stay in touch with friends and family. I have 2 bikes that you can use. I also have a transit van and if you have a clean UK licence and if you can show me you can drive on the right with a right hand drive, I may let you use the van on your off work days.

If you are a user of Cannabis and are dependent on it or Tabaco and cannot go without as I suspect my last helper was you then should not apply.

I speak a little French and English.
I am looking for helpers who can work on their own initiative, if required, but I am very flexible about times and also weather conditions. I would expect between 20 to 30 hours work a week, depending on what is happening.

If these sounds like your sort of place please contact me, I am looking for genuine helpers, all year round.

I am a good laugh with 3 adult sons and daughter and 8 grand children. I am easy going

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use