help exchange   Host 39987
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Frome
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 39987
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2019

Hello dog lovers.

We would love to welcome you to our home in the small but busy market town of Frome in Somerset (has won awards as the best small town in the UK). http://www.discoverfrome.co.uk/frome/
We have been hosting for a couple of years and have enjoyed meeting new friends from all over the world.

We have a big decorating project and would like to host 2 people who are experienced and good at decorating to help us during November 2019.

Our house in Frome is about 10 minutes walk from the centre and within walking distance of the cinema, the railway station, the leisure centre, the theatres and the countryside.

Frome is a small town with lots of markets/events/music and plenty of individual shops cafes and pubs. It has a strong alternative culture and is a great place to sit in a cafe, discover English cakes and watch the world go by!
There is plenty going on in the evenings if you are happy to go out and find it, or you can enjoy a more quiet life as we are close to beautiful countryside. Previous helpers have joined a local choir and sung in a concert, participated in a pub quiz, checked out the local music scene and joined the backstage crew at the Merlin theatre.

Bath and Bristol are not far for a day out. By bus or train it takes less than an hour to Bath (6 bus or 10/12 train).

At the weekends, you can get to London in 2 hours by train if you wish. We don't need help at weekends so you can explore the area or travel around. It is good if you can find some stuff for yourselves, you will get more out of your stay here.

We have 2 dogs (Daisy and Panda) and 2 cats as well as ourselves: Maddy, Milo, Herbie and Alli. Our other adult children live elsewhere but sometimes come home at weekends. Our house has a small town garden with flowers and fruit and near to the house we also have small vegetable allotment where we grow organic berries and vegetables.

We are mostly vegetarian but very occasionally cook meat. We enjoy sharing meals as a family and would be happy for you to join us. This is a home stay and you would be living in our home. The kitchen table is an important place in our home! We have enjoyed discovering new styles of cuisine prepared by our lovely helpexers. Alli works in management and Herbie is a retired Maths teacher. He is undertaking lots of creative and DIY tasks and would love practical help from people who have some skills.

The house has WiFi. We have a double room with one double bed so it would be fine for one person or a couple to share, although there is not enough housework for 2 people, so one of you would help with building/carpentry/decorating work. We share the bathrooms. We have (oldish) bikes which you are very welcome to borrow to help you get around.

We only host non-smokers.

We have hosted many times. We like meeting new people from different places and helping them to discover this part of the UK. We have made some good friends, some have even stayed in Frome. We try to make the most of our time with helpers and definitely enjoy spending time laughing with people who have a good sense of humour. We have a piano at home, we love it when our helpers play it.

And if you are interested in exploring Somerset...
https://www.buzzfeed.com/alexfinnis/reasons-you-should-never-visit-somerset

Photos: Daisy and Panda love swimming, lovely dog enjoying a walk with a helpex visitor, Panda and Daisy, Frome market day, our family all together, vegetable allotment.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use