help exchange   Host 40074
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nes i Hedmark
All Year: yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40074
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 5, 2019

Hi, at the moment I am looking for volunteer helpers (not ones who expect pay) from January. In exchange for your help you will be given a free place to stay and food while you are here. I do not need more then 1 helper in winter months, but can consider couples or friends in spring/summer.

My home is a log cabin in the woods on an island in the middle of Norway´s largest lake. It is very quiet here so this is not the place for people looking for lots of fun. But if you are looking to escape the city, and you respect nature and enjoy the quiet around you, this is the place for you. We are 45 minutes from all the larger cities around the lake, including Lillehammer which was the home of the 1994 Winter Olympics. 1.5 hours from the airport Gardemoen and 2 hours from Oslo.

You will have a lot of time for yourself, so you must be ok with that. The work will vary through the year, from gardening in the summer, to snow shoveling in the winter. All year long I have animals who need care. Chickens (8) and 2 dogs (one very big dog and one small dog) and 5 cats. Some light housekeeping is also required, making fires in the fireplace, walking dogs, light remodeling projects (sometimes not always), and things like this. I appreciate people who can go with the flow and help out with whatever I need help with in the moment as this varies often.

If you like to cook you can cook some meals if you like, otherwise I love to cook so I am happy to make the dinners for us. I will definitely spend time with you, but I also require time alone. So again, its best if you are good to enjoy time with yourself.

I have a 13 year old foster daughter who lives with me and I have 3 biological children who have moved out. So it is just me and my 13 year old here now. I work 4 days a week outside the house. So I am limited to picking you up to Mondays and weekends unless we agree to something else.

I have done Helpx for three years and had mostly good experiences, of course there have been some people who the chemistry was not right with and this doesn't mean they are bad or we are bad, we are just not right together and this is important to understand when traveling like this. Not everyone gets along. I will be able to ask you to move on if I feel we are not getting along and I hope you will also be able to tell me this if you also feel it is not the right place for you :-) This should be a nice experience for us both.

There are many hiking paths here and in the winter they sometimes make ski paths. In the summer there are mountains to climb and woods to explore and in the winter there are ski resorts not far away and I can help you reach a train so you can get to these places. My home is 30 minutes from the train station and there are limited busses here. So you must be willing to walk places, in the summer you can loan bicycles. There is a grocery store not far away and several cafes, some are open year round and others only in the summer. Yearly there is only 600 people living on the island but in the summer there are many tourists.

I require a short video chat on MESSENGER before we confirm visits, to get a feeling for who you are. I prefer 2 week stays as a max, but in the winter time I can be open to longer stays, please check with me. I also prefer 1 helper at a time but can consider 2 depending on what I need help with.

Hope to hear from you :-)


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use