help exchange   Host 40101
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Odeceixe
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40101
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 11, 2020

We are a Swedish/Israeli family of three living on our small farm next to Odeceixe, a cute village in the Southwest of Portugal. Our place is located by the river of Odeceixe, 3 km outside of the village and 6 km from the Atlantic ocean.
We bought the land in the spring of 2014 and we have been very busy sense!

We have hosted over 80 volunteers the past years and we have had an amazing experience renovating our houses and building up the farm! We could never have done it without the help from so many wonderful and caring people, we are truly blessed!

Our vision is to live a quiet life in the countryside, in harmony with nature, and growing as much of our own food as we can.
We are practicing permaculture and we have renovated two houses built out of rammed earth, now we are doing two more :)
To support our selves we are renting out the houses during the summer months.
We have a garden and fruit trees to care for and some chickens.

We need a bunch of strong hands and curios minds to help us create something beautiful for the next generation to come.

We look for volunteers to stay with us for a minimum of 2 weeks and we will choose volunteers that have possibility of staying longer.

Work description:
This October we started renovating some buildings on our property. We are now in the finishing part of the building process, basically doing all the interior work. We need to build kitchens, interior doors, and all kinds of furniture. We there for would LOVE to find helpers who have experience in carpentry or a lot of DIY skills and experience!
We are also going to need help with a lot of landscaping outside of the houses, making terraces, planting trees and flowers and making it all look neat and tidy :)
There will be a lot of physically hard work so we are looking for people that have no problem doing heavy lifting, digging etc. There is also a lot of different maintenance to be done, including gardening, so the daily working tasks will vary a lot.
This is a great opportunity for anyone interested in experiencing the true hard work behind building houses from (more or less) scratch.

We also look for someone that can help us with the household and basically be a "Farm Mama". This person will be in charge of planning and making vegetarian lunch for the team every day, preparing coffee break, cleaning, laundry, gardening, and if you will get along with our son maybe also some babysitting :)


SUMMER ALERT! May-October
We are looking for volunteers to stay with us for longer periods of time this summer. Preferably minimum two months. The work tasks will mainly be hosting tourists that will be renting our eco-houses.
This includes: Cleaning the houses after check-out, doing laundry, check-in and check-outs, preparing veggie boxes for the guests and general communication with guests. There will most probably also be some gardening to help with in between.
You need to be responsible, happy to clean several times a week and having no problem being social with our guests and make them feel at home :)
We might travel to visit family during summer so we would also want someone who feels comfortable staying in the farm alone or with other volunteers. We are not sure of dates yet but please contact us if you are interested and we'll talk about it!
This is a good opportunity for you who want to spend a sunny summer in a beautiful area with great beaches, amazing weather and lovely vibes. You will be staying in a tent close to the river and have all the comfort that a glamping lifestyle offers. You will be eating fresh organic produce from the garden and share our us self-sustained way of living, learning about organic farming from a permaculture point of view.

Accommodation:
During winter/spring we have a caravan and two-three volunteers will also be able to stay in one of our houses.
Depending on the size of our team volunteers might also stay in a belltent with a fire place.
Between May-October volunteers will be staying in tents next to the gorgeous river.

Kitchen, toilet and shower are outside.
The living circumstances are simple but comfortable :)

Surroundings:
Our land is placed on the border between regions Algarve and Alentejo, both are very charming and beautiful. The beaches in this area are perfect for surfing. In Odeceixe you will find everything you need, banks, postoffice, restaurants, bars, shops, etc.

There are busses going to the Southcoast and to Lisbon daily, and in the summer a lot of young people are in the area to attend parties, festivals and beach-events.

You can take a cooling dip in the river on our land in the hot days.
There are a lot of hiking routes around the area.

We are vegetarians and will provide vegetarian food, but of course are you free to bring your own food of choice.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use