help exchange   Host 40316
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Jersey City
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 3
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 40316
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 6, 2019

Hey future guests.
We are booked up till fall at our happy little home.

We need work exchangers the following sets of dates:
9/6-11/4
10/1- 11/11
and 9/6 onwards
With availability between 11-3p

To apply please send a message after reading everything in our profile. Preference also given to those who clearly have read everything.


Scrappy, young upstarts living thrifty and looking to help others to experience NYC on a budget.
- Curious as to who we are?

Sandy, my husband, runs a post production film company.
I, Jennifer, am a household manager who part-time is working on a website to be filled of free educational resources to try to reduce the achievement gap between high and low income households.

And we dabble at writing a blog on how to live a thrifty and sustainable lifestyle.

We're looking for individuals passionate about sustainability and free and equal education.
You will be residing in our Fixer Upper, 100 year+ old rowhouse in Jersey City, of which we Airbnb 3 of the 4 bedrooms (the 4th room the 3 work exchange guests share). We practice recycling, growing of our own organic produce, composting, and look to educate others on such practices.

How can you help?

BUILDING
Creating a backyard space more conducive to sustainability practices as we just bought our neighbor's rowhouse and are looking to spruce this up by:
Creating a backyard space that allows for building of gardenbeds, more growing, and composting!
And also helping with smaller tasks inside this home. We have hired contractors to handle the professional stuff, but work exchange guests may be able to help in filling the home with art, painting, handmade and secondhand furniture, etc.
We'd love to mosaic some of the sinks, a wall, etc, so if you have tiling or mosaic skills we would especially appreciate these!

GARDENING
Helping to grow produce in our organic backyard garden beds that can be shared among the work exchange team and ourselves

WEBSITE AND WRITING

For the educational site:
Researching free educational resources that can be shared on our nonprofit's website that enables families of any social economic status to better prepare their children for various exams - whether admissions or annual - therefore changing the life and career path of these children

Creating posts on the website that educate parents on how to use these resources

Creating videos that show parents how to use resources or complete fun activities that enrich the lives of their children. Shooting and editing skills are welcome and handy!

For the sustainable living site:
Share articles and videos from around the web that teach and inspire others to live more sustainably.

Writing posts about sustainable practices one can do at home, even if urban living, to enrich their lives and those of others.

HOUSE:
Amazingly our house was partially renovated by a team of past work exchange volunteers, working alongside contractors (we have hosted 90+ volunteers over the last three years!) to create new stairs, a new roof with two skylights, new siding and eco -friendly insulation, new closets, new kitchen, extended bottom floor ending in dining room, etc.

Behind the house is a backyard filled with garden beds made of reclaimed wood from our projects. We often harvest organic produce from the backyard you are welcome to eat + lots of jumbo sunflowers! It's surreal.

There is a full kitchen with every type of cooking tool you may need, plus plenty of dishes, utensils, etc, and our large kitchen table is where the plans for the Ellis Island Museum (next to the Statue of Liberty and the place where sooo many immigrants were welcomed to NYC, and to the US) were created!
We keep some supplies on hand for you to use, and you will have a part of the refrigerator and pantry to store your food.
We don't provide food as it is quite expensive for us to maintain a place in the NYC metro area, but there are lots of cheap grocery stores around.

CLIMATE:
We are LGBQT, immigrant, religion/ethnicity/nationality friendly. We appreciate you share that same passion of treating other equally, no matter their background.

LOCATION:
Jersey City is like the 6th borough of NYC; you're closer to all the liveliness of the city than if you were in most parts of Brooklyn, Queens, or the Bronx, and yet shopping is much cheaper, so you can live on less.

Our Bnb is conveniently an 8 minute walk to the Journal Square PATH train stop, and then a 15 minute subway ride directly into Manhattan. The Path subway train stops in the West Village, Financial District, Union Square, Chelsea, and Midtown Manhattan. Our neighborhood, Journal Square, is an up and coming hotspot, right across the Hudson River, from Manhattan. It is safe and teeming with restaurants and all of the conveniences of a city.

SHARED ROOM:
It is a small rowhouse with 4 bedrooms in Jersey City, an 8 minute walk to the Journal Square subway station, and a 15 minute ride on the PATH train.
3 bedrooms are rented and 1 bedroom is shared by 2-3 work exchange guests - each work exchange guest has his or her own bed and storage space.

Who will you share a room with? Maybe one other work exchange guest, and our super manager, Marta. She came as a work exchange guests nearly two years ago and never left! She is AMAZING! Everyone raves about how funny and nice Marta is, and she will take care of you during your stay.

YOUR HOSTS:
Sandy and I don't live there, as we petsit in the city and move from home to home (we haven't paid rent in 4 years because of this!) but we love hosting our guests for board game nights, dinners, film screenings, etc. No pressure to come, but we love making friends from all over the world, and we can teach you how to live in NYC on nearly no budget if you're curious.

WHAT's PROVIDED:
A flexible schedule
Comfy accommodations
Fresh sheets and towels
Fast wifi
A large washer/dryer for you to do laundry
A location close to Manhattan - a 15 minute ride on the underground Path subway train into the city at just $2.75/ride.

Please - in writing to us - tell us:
?When you are available M-F between 8a-6p EST to Skype video chat with me, as well as your Skype username. We video interview everyone so you can be sure of who you will be meeting and vice versa!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use