help exchange   Host 40343
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: not winter
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40343
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 1, 2016

im an english woman with a five year old son, living in a beautiful isolated valley in the south of france. we are off grid with solar electricity and spring piped water. we have 8 hectares of mostly woodland, and have chickens, cats, dog, a sheep and two donkeys. i moved here 3 years ago with my french partner with the intention to set up a ferme pedagogique (learning farm) centered around medicinal herbs and renewable energy. however now that the relationship has ended we are heading in new directions. although he is happy to help with work on the property which we still co-own, he has a job so cant do as much as he'd like. which is why i'm look ing for some help.

I am looking for help with building two extensions to my small house for extra space and light and to create a bathroom and kitchen (it's all in one room at the moment). and also to add on to the compost toilet. i am interested in eco / green building and my philosophy is to build as simply and cheaply as possible with on site and recycled materials as much as possible. i'm planning tyre foundations, green wood frame and straw bale infill. we have bales, windows, tyres and plenty of trees on site. i'm looking for someone with a bit of experience in this type of building and at least a good knowledge of how to use a chainsaw.

i'm also interested in developing sustainable solutions like solar shower, pedal pumps and washing machines, reed beds ... if youre interested in developing and experimenting with the resources we have here that would be great too.

there are two rivers, a lake and plenty of woodland walks around the house. nearby are two big resrvoirs where you can swim, boat... the nearest village has a leisure complex with swimming pool and adventure park. the two nearest towns (about 40 mins away) are Castres and Albi with lots of interesting things to do and see. if you dont have your own transport i can take you around.

i imagine this project would best suit someone who fancies relaxing in the peace and tranquility of this site.

there might also be a possibility for people with young children coming as a long term project, building a cabin and living here. theres a school nearby or i'm interesred in homeschooling as part of a group of families

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use