help exchange   Host 40723
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Victoria
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .8 (2 acres)
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40723
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2019

Currently full

We live in Langford, just outside of Victoria on two acres. We keep chickens, ducks and quail, mainly for eggs, and raise some birds for meat. We also have a big garden that often needs work either with weeding or harvesting.

Our property borders the Galloping Goose trail, a walking/biking trail between Victoria and Sooke. There are lakes, parks and beaches nearby, although a car would be helpful to reach some of them. We can lend a bike out. There is bus service from our place to Victoria and the surrounding area several times a day, plus we can give rides on occasion.

Accommodation is in a private cabin in the woods with electricity, propane heat and wifi. There’s a queen size bed so two can stay. There is an outhouse near the cabin as well as a rustic outdoor kitchen with 2 burner campstove. We can provide most food but would expect you to do some of your own cooking.

Work would be varied – helping in the yard and garden, with the animals, or in the house. You could be cleaning, painting, fixing, weeding, or even teaching us one of your skills. One of my children (adult) is just starting to learn guitar and would love some help with that.

For a one week stay I would like 20 hours of work (could be 4 days of 5 hours each, then 3 days off).

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use