help exchange   Host 40727
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bristol
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2 or 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40727
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 5, 2019

**please contact us now for helping in August 19 and beyond **

Come and stay with me, my husband and our daughters (3years and 28 - with special needs) on our small holding. I am starting a very small pony riding / grooming business for children and adults with special needs.

We have 4 horses, 2 dogs and 2 cats and live on 5 acres of land about 6 miles from the City of Bristol. There are buses available if you are coming from Bristol city centre, and coaches and trains linking us with most other large cites and towns in the south of England. We are very near Bristol airport and the village of ChewMagna (google it). We're also about 20 mins from Bath and 45 mins from the famous Glastonbury and Wells.

We need help some with the following:

*DIY jobs (painting and restoration etc) help with renovating our house.
*Helping with the horses (mucking out, poo picking the fields, and looking after them). If you have experience with horses this is ideal. possibility of riding and lots of groundwork.
*Helping with the groups we run for children to learn horse care and riding
*Gardening and maintaining our field and fencing.
*feeding and playing with the dogs and cats
*helping inside the home, cleaning, laundry, ironing, cooking, organising etc LOTs OF THIS!!
*Listing things on Ebay like baby clothes etc!
*other odd jobs inside the home and out
*must be prepared to work outside sometimes in wet / cold weather with warm / waterproof clothing !! - it can rain a lot in England !!

If you are interested in horses you can help me and go to local shows and competitions.

We would be looking for 5 days working a week (this can be flexible) with 7 hours a day with breaks!!

In exchange for work we offer a static caravan for accommodation (with tv), 3 meals a day, snacks and drinks ! use of our laundry facilities and our WIFI and lots of conversation and a fun environment. it is beautiful here and fun and visitors never seem to want to leave! There is defiantly something magical about out hilltop!

We all work together during the day and eat together and then usually do our own things in the evenings ~ so there is the opportunity to go to the "local" pub or out into Bristol for the evening if you wanted or just spend some quite time.

We have 2-4 volunteer positions, as the caravan available is for 4 people, would also suit friends or couples. Let us know if you are happy to share or not!

Our house is in a rural (on a big hill, 700 feet above sea level!!) but not isolated location so would suit people that are looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful. It is often windy here but beautiful visas, so you MUST bring warm and waterproof clothing and boots!!!

We also have a bike volunteers are welcome to use!

:) You need to have a reference from ofther help x host or provide another type of reference please to help here :)

Look forward to hearing from you
Melissa :)

PS. It is important you like animals especially dogs and horses!!!

reviews (5)
Helper: Julia and Clara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 2, 2016
We were supposed to stay about five weeks at Melissa's but we needed to left ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Cassie Cleary Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: October 22, 2016
Melissa and Kevin are amazing! I came to help out while I was waiting to s... view complete review

Helper: Marta Otero Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: October 13, 2016
It is great people who help you in everything they can and make you feel at h... view complete review

Helper: Bruno and Giulia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: September 6, 2016
We stayed with Kevin and Melissa for almost three weeks and it was an amazing... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Hannah Jones Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 25, 2015
I had a wonderful approx. 10 day stay with Melissa and Kevin. They were very ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use