help exchange   Host 40934
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kurow
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.9
Persons: 1-3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 40934
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 4, 2020

We have converted a large kiwi farm sheep shearing/woolshed into an amazing home and accomodation in the Waitaki Valley in North Otago.

We are doing the finishing touches to our building conversion and ongoing running of our farm. We have various tasks such as....Putting up art work,painting a caravan and artistic painting,shifting wood sticks under cover, taking out nails, building, window cleaning, car cleaning or develop the land with organic methods. Planting /gardening/weeding. Farm tasks. Animal care, cleaning paddocks. Horse riding. Cooking yummy meals. Some cleaning.
If you had building skills we have some shelves to make in our garage.
Or do you have any natural horsemanship and horse riding skills to help with our horse?
Or chainsawing experience as we need to process a few big branches.

We have lots of musical instruments, drumkit, guitars and a baby grand piano. We make and enjoy beer, cider, wine and fruit snapps. We help run a small boutique pinot noir and riesling vineyard and at different times of year we may need some help tending to it or harvesting.

We are close to A2O walking and biking tracks and the mighty Waitaki river and many beautiful lakes. The river is great for summer swims. We have excellent star gazing too.

We love the garden and aim to produce as much organic food as we can. We love to cook and are well known for our delicious meals and excellent food.
We have three small dogs, two pet pigs, a big horse and a minature horse, chickens and sheep.We have chihuahia puppies just born recently. And 2 cats. It's a bit of a zoo.

We keep bees that make delicious honey!

We really appreciate our woofers and are so grateful for the help with our home and gardens. We have met wonderful people and have made life long friendships. It is so nice to hear where you are from and share in cultural exchange with time around the dinner table. We have a real interest in other cultures.

A good level of english is appreciated please. We appreciate motivated people that have experience of physical work, or building, practical from a rural background. Good physical strength is needed for farm jobs. Help with cleaning and dishes is appreciated.
We are happy to provide you with cool accomodation, great food and delicious drinks, in exchange for your help of 4 hours work a day over 6 days.

We have some hobbies you could enjoy whilst you are here. Bike riding, surfing, gentle down hill skateboarding (it's great down our road), music, yoga, tai chi, juggling fire and poi, cooking, making herbal medicine from foraged herbs from the land, beer making, soap making, golf, fishing, boating, kayaking and horse riding.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use