help exchange   Host 40970
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Langford/Metchosin
All Year: All year
Area (ha):
Persons: single or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 40970
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2020

Due to the current conditions, we are not taking any Helpxers at this time. We are a couple that live on a beautiful property right by the Sooke Hills forests halfway between Sooke and Victoria. Easy to take off for hikes into the forest or go for a swim right from our home. Victoria is approx. 45 minutes away by bus from our house so its easy to take a bus into Victoria to see the sights. In the other direction, the old growth forests and beaches of the west coast of the island are accessible.

We are part of a farming co-operative with 4 other families. Our co-operative leases a 12 acre piece of farmland 3 km away. We all work together with the goal of growing all of our vegetables for the year. Spring and fall are the busy times at the farm with planting and harvesting.
Other work could include household and yard chores including: cleaning, weeding, splitting firewood and minor repairs.Scott is a woodworker and there are lots of wood in the yard that needs sorting etc. We ask for an average of 5 hours/day for 5 days a week of work from each helper. We also ask that the helper be a non-smoker.
We have openings starting in May, just when it starts to get busy!

We will provide breakfast and one main meal that will be vegetarian food including organic vegetables from our farm. Accommodation is a room in our house with separate bathroom.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use