help exchange   Host 41263
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): twitter: @Escley Brook
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41263
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 6, 2019

** Hello helpers! Thank you for finding our advert. We are excited to have an opportunity to use our lovely holiday cottage as accommodation for a helper (or couple of helpers) as it is free at the moment, (which is perfect as we would want you to be warm and cosy as it's winter. Please google Buzzards Bothy, Hay on Wye).

We have lots of farm and garden (maybe even some house) projects to do before Spring - some more creative, others more tidying/clearing/renovating etc. But whatever we do, we try to make it fun and satisfying! Even though we work hard (and hope our helpers will to) we are very conscious of you having a worthwhile and pleasant stay with us with plenty of time to explore and relax, so we will do all we can to make that happen!

Please get in touch with lots of detail about yourself or yourselves; How long you would want to stay for; what you are most happy doing, any particular skills/experience you have and what you would like to get out of being here.

Please do get in touch - we would be very pleased to hear from you (if you want to read more about us, see the main advert below). References would be very helpful. Thank you. Looking forward to getting started on our helpx adventure.. Best wishes, Chrissy and Robert ***

P.S., Please note there are a couple of weekends when the holiday cottage is booked for holiday guests so helpers could go to one of our neighbours who take in helpers/woofers or could use the opportunity to visit one of the local cities for the weekend, such as Bristol, Cardiff or Bath.


We are lucky enough to live on a beautiful 45 acre hill farm in rural Herefordshire with cattle and a small number of sheep. Please see our twitter account for a taste of our ethos and what drives us.
We have lots of projects we want to do with which we would love some help, and look forward to meeting new people, sharing new ideas and recipes and even learning some languages!
We want to work towards turning our holding into a permaculture / Agroecology farm, running it in as sympathetic and sustainable a way as possible. We would appreciate help in several areas which include:
Renovating an old railway carriage into accommodation.
Further development of our flower and vegetable garden and polytunnel. (If we're honest 'rescue' gardening is what is needed at the moment!) We would like to develop a salad and flower business so there is a lot of work in the polytunnel/garden.
Also we have projects to do with landscaping, including setting up a 'camp area' for the renovated railway carriage with compost loo, and outdoor kitchen etc and further building type work so a helper with stonework and timber frame experience would be a huge bonus.
We have tree planting to do as part of the beginnings of an agroforesty project on the farm, as well as building a large fenced area for chickens and ducks. We also need help with setting up a number of small rotational areas for pigs in and around the woodland.
There is woodland work to do, including thinning and felling, and also we will be cutting firewood, as well as coppicing part of our riverbank this early Spring (by mid March latest) so someone with experience of forestry and chainsawing and the appetite to be a woodsman would be very welcome.
We are a happy, relaxed though busy family wanting someone who is hardworking and who would enjoy outdoor work, and who is uncomplicated and just happy to be here living as part of the family in a wonderful, enriching environment. We work hard but also like to relax and get out and be social. We are very lucky to have a great pub at the bottom of our farm track (about 4 mins walk!) and to live in a very friendly and vibrant community. Helpers should realise that we are very rural and should not mind being 'away from it all'! Having your own vehicle would be very useful.
Accommodation would be in our much loved vintage caravan which is a treasured retreat for family holidays, so our helper would need to be clean, tidy and very respectful of the caravan and guarantee to take great care of it. You would be very welcome in our house and we would want you to feel part of the family. Someone who is happy to help cook sometimes would be a bonus but not essential. We are very conscious that our helper should have a very happy time with us, and we will make a big effort to help you feel at home, to help you meet people so you have social contact outside of our family too, and have a rewarding and fulfilling experience. It is our way of doing our bit after travelling ourselves when we were younger.
The area we live in is very rural, all small pasture farms with tiny villages alongside the Black Mountains on the border between England and Wales. There is fantastic walking (as well as wild swimming) with the the wilds of the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons on the doorstep. The lovely market town of Hay on Wye is just 25 mins drive away.
In short, we offer a wonderful rural farm stay with rewarding, but perhaps quite physical work, with lovely accommodation in a nice, clean and comfortable caravan, and a very friendly family environment.
Please donít hesitate to contact us if you are interested in coming to stay with us, and let us know lots about you and what you would want to get out of a stay. P.S. couples welcome. Helpers also need to not mind dogs as we have a lovely sheepdog.

With best wishes, Chrissy and Robert

reviews (1)
Helper: Sarah and Les Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 29, 2019
We stayed for 2 weeks. Les did a specific electrical DIY job, and Sarah did ... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use