help exchange   Host 41318
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Portland
All Year: mostly in summer
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 41318
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 6, 2019

We've rescued our 1889 house from the derelict building list and now live in a quite comfortable but not quite finished home. There is lots to be done still and depending on the length of time you are here and your skill set, we'll try to find something that you can enjoy or feel a sense of contribution doing.

We've removed all lead paint and primed walls and exterior siding. In the summer we focus on exterior painting and projects and move indoor when the rain comes to interior painting and projects! Painting experience is a plus, but we also would consider someone with a steady hand, attention to detail, and an eagerness to learn. We would also like to do some landscaping and always have a big garden. We need a back patio. Given the size of the house, there is always something that needs done, be it cleaning up after a meal, emptying the dish drain and dish washer, mopping the kitchen floor or vacuuming…

Our household includes our family of three plus a dog, a cat, 6 chickens and a big garden. We live in a historic neighborhood on bus lines and bike routes close to the Alberta Arts district as well as Missississippi and North Williams Avenues. For a US city our transit is pretty good.

We prefer a MINIMUM of 2 week stay and we are focused on travelers, not long-term roommates. We expect 4-5 hours a day of work for 5 days per week--flexing the hours is fine but please keep in mind that the windows that we have for painting exterior is limited. We provide 3 meals a day. We eat full farm--dairy, eggs, meat, veggies and a variety of grains. The bedroom is a smaller bedroom (used to be sunporch) with 3 large working windows, a decent closet, full bed with bedside table and lamp, and a desk w chair. It is radiant heat and there is a fan if you are warm. The bathroom is shared and you are responsible for keeping it clean. We prefer a quiet house on school nights between 9:30 p.m. and 6:30 a.m. but are up later on the weekends.
Two non-negotiables:
1) We are a DRUG-FREE and VAPE/SMOKE-FREE property with the exceptions of coffee/tea or chocolate. No Tobacco and marijuana.
2) NO pets or young children. We are full till the end of 2019 but email us if you want as things are always changing.

reviews (10)
Helper: Patrick Morrissey Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 28, 2019
Worked with Jennifer and Kent for 1 day building an earth wall. They are very... view complete review

Helper: Carolina Coronado Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: June 21, 2019
I have not enough words to talk well about this amazing people now my family ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Catherine Neligan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 6, 2019
I spent an idyllic 3 weeks with the Siebolds and loved every minute of it. I ... view complete review

Helper: Hiromi Shidori Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: August 14, 2017
I stayed with Siebold family for three weeks and had absolutely great time wi... view complete review

Helper: Sebastien Bazin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 30, 2017
I spent 6 weeks with this nice american family. I felt accepted like a family... view complete review

Helper: Edward Blankensop Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: May 20, 2016
I first heard about helpx from a chap from France while backpacking through N... view complete review

Helper: Christine Soileau Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 4, 2016
Staying in Portland with the Siebold family was a perfectly wonderful experie... view complete review

Helper: Wagner Katrkel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: October 14, 2015
I stayed ten big days in this beautiful house, and it was a fascinating exper... view complete review

Helper: David Tonner Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: October 14, 2015
l had such a great time at the Siebold home. I told Jennifer I would stay for... view complete review

Helper: Donna Zhevni Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 5, 2015
Jennifer and Kent are new to Help Exchange, but don't hesitate to stay with t... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use