help exchange   Host 41324
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Alora
All Year: min. 1 month to 6 months
Area (ha): 3 hectares
Persons: 6 max
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41324
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 27, 2019

Update: (11.08.2019)

Location situated in the heart of the mountains in the Guadalhorce valley.
We are planting Food Forests on our 25,000m2 of Organic Fertile land. All profits from our business go towards reforesting the local area. Expanding the Forest.
We follow the Permaculture system of planting food.
fWe also plant and grow from organic seeds, Microgreens, including Wheatgrass, Red Amaranth, Radish, Broccoli and Rocket and much more, too many to list here! Which we also sell at Market.

From Mid September we are taking Helpers with experience in General gardening and/or Construction experience. We cannot accommodate anyone without some skills, sorry, but we need help on the farm and although you will be learning lots, we cant afford for plants to die, as has happened in the past with HelpX with no previous experience in the garden!
This is´nt a holiday!
You will work hard but be generously rewarded with experience, new skills, an amazing setting and healthy Permaculture food.
If you are a Raw Vegan, you are welcome to forage.
Free internet
We still have an Earth Bag construction underway! We normally have courses running for this type of project, but Helpers come along too to take part in these projects with us. ( Great learning experience)
The farm work of course Carries on at the same time, as this is our main income at the moment.
So as you can see we are super busy!
You will be helping with all of the above, learning many skills and experiencing an amazing time on a Permaculture farm! ( you will be mainly fed by the produce from our farm!)
Accomodation: House no longer Available......please see below for Accomodation details.
All food, bedding & towels are supplied by us.

Helpers will be accepted on a first come first served basis! Anyone that fails to reply to messages will be bypassed by another lucky Helper!!!
We look forward to hearing from you x
Please read on:

Our Business:
We are a Permaculture Farm and have a Microgreens business! We sell at a local market every Saturday and Sunday including any produce from our farm.
We also have an Associacion or Club where members receive discounts on courses and produce from the farm shop!

For HelpX we require at least One Month stay.
Places are available from Mid September to Mid December. Then again in Mid January to the End of May.
Couples are Welcome.
Accomodation :
* Single Tents sleep 1or 2
If you can bring your own tent then that would be great!
Included:
* All bedding & towels supplied.
* We have lots of extra blankets & quits, so although its chilly at night, you will be snuggly in a tent with a real bed, you won´t be on a cold floor!
* Night time temperature is around 5 degrees
* The average is 10 to 17 during the day going up to 25
Please bring appropriate clothing & Footwear for the Season.
From September to December the weather is similar to a good English summer!
* There is a Bathroom next to the Caravan for helpers made from recycled pallets.....complete with hot water, sink, bath, shower and composting toilet!
* The bathroom in the Main house is Strictly Private.

* You will be working approx. 5 to 6 hours a day with weekends to do as you please, or if you want to swap a weekend day for mid week that’s fine too......it really depends on the weather and the priorities in hand!

We also sell to local restaurants and Farmers markets in and around Alora. Bars and Restaurants in Malaga and on the Costa del Sol.

WE NEED HELPERS WITH SKILLS
Electrician
Carpenter
Plumber
General builder
Gardener

Tasks include;
* Weeding
* Collecting Almonds & Olives from September to October
*Helping to Dig Swales /Ponds & terracing for water collection & preservation.
*Generally helping where needed, collecting fruits and vegetables.
*Helping to plant new trees and shrubs, we are constantly expanding our Forests.
*Stone Wall building for retaining walls.
* Pallet shed building
*Earthbag building for sheds, almacens and storage.
*Helping to keep the outside areas clean and tidy.
* Helping to build our outdoor kitchen area for Helpex and to wash/clean the salads & veggies for sale.
* Olive Collecting in December.
* Almond collecting in September, October & November
* Pruning Olive & Almond Trees.
*rendering the last walls on the earthbag house.

We are fun loving, easy going & lighthearted. We are very mindful of the effects of work on your mind & body, so please be assured, there will be days of Almond/Olive collecting walking through the hills on a beautiful sunny day. To lifting, digging and collecting branches on other days.
Food & Drinks:
You will be rewarded with amazing home cooked food, mostly picked from our farm.
* 3 meals a day, hearty, full and healthy!
* 1 Fruit basket every week


* Breakfast: Porridge & Fruits, Toast & Jams, Eggs...
* Lunch: Soups, Stews, Baguettes, Salads, Omlettes
* Dinner: Stews, Risottos, Paella, Pasta dishes.
( vegan & vegetarian options available)

We have beautiful free chickens that give us stunning eggs daily! ??????
We live in a Small Original Finca built on a plateau.
Quiet and secluded, 6km to the main road. ( 1.5 hour walk)

The wildlife is amazing and breathtaking,...totally peaceful setting with absolutely no light pollution, enjoy the evenings stargazing!!!!

We have an Underground Eco earthbag home, which Sams Mum lives in! built into the mountainside, arch window and door built using tyres, reclaimed wood for the roof beams from a wine bodega, antique arch windows, lots of interesting features! There is still a little more work on this to finish!

About Us:
Stacey is an experienced traditional builder from London, that now has years of experience in Eco Building and Organic Farming.
Sam is an experienced Antiques Restorer and Leather Bag designer & maker, also from London. Sam works on the business side, organises and oversees all the buying and marketing. She also cooks an incredible meal!

We build ecologically, therefore also exploring the use of alternative energy systems.

What we expect:
We are experienced Hosts, with 4 years experience. Some Helpx stay a month others 10months!

Cleanliness and Tidiness a definite, with a
Respectful and Polite nature!!!! You will be asked to leave if you are rude, lazy or unclean! Again, sorry but we have had some bad experiences and this is our family home with a child and a grandmother to consider too!

Our Home is very small, it is our space, but with a large covered terrace, which becomes a sealed room in the winter, you have lots of space to chill out and relax.
We tend to spend a lot of time on our terrace, with dining and comfy sofas, this area is our social space which we are happy to share with you.
There are cooking facilities outside which are available to HelpX but Sam will usually cook for everyone!
*Smoking Outside Only! Absolutely NO smoking in the Tents,out on the land in dry weather or in The Finca. No food allowed in the Tents unless you like sleeping with ants!

Location:
We are 40 minutes north of Malaga, deep into the countryside. 15 minutes up a dirt track by car!
Local town, typical whitewashed Spanish pueblo with Bars, Restaurants, Supermarkets and Banks! Nearer there are Bars and Supermarkets.
There is a bus at the bottom of the track to Alora and Malaga.
Alora has a train station, 30 minutes to Malaga, where there are other trains which travel along the coast, including the airport.

*We can pickup from airport if necessary.

We have 2 Dogs one is big and friendly called George! 1 Puppy Macy and 3 Cats Lizzie, Lottie and Lola.. so no allergies please!
We are not Veggies or Vegans, we eat Meat, not a lot, so if you are unhappy with this please do not apply.
We are happy to cook for you if you are a Veggie or Vegan.
No Children or Animals, sorry!

Lots of Places of Local Interest:
Horse riding available locally.
Alora is an historic Moorish town, nestled in the hills of Andalusia. Seville, Ronda and Granada are within 2 hours away by car or train.
Malaga and the Costa del Sol 45 minutes away.
There is the local beauty spot of El Chorro with amazing vistas and natural parks, a climbing haven. Including The Caminito del Rey, The kings walk made famous by the film Von Ryans Express!
The Lakes of El Chorro are nearby for canoeing and kayaking.

*On arrival we will talk through what is expected of you and what you would like to take from your experience here with us.
Lots to do and see,...........we can help you with planning your time off!
Welcome to ask as many questions as you like!


Thanks Stacey and Samantha

reviews (10)
Helper: Raphael Alain Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 25, 2019
I spent few wonderful weeks with Sam, Stacey, Beau and Val in them finca in t... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Nahuel and Zoi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Argentina Date: September 17, 2018
Our first volunteering experience was with Sam and Stacey and it couldn't hav... view complete review

Helper: Joe Wyand Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 11, 2018
I had a VERY memorable and fulfilling month with Stacey and Sam which has inf... view complete review

Helper: Carole Fitzell Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 2, 2018
I had a mostly fantastic time at conscious earth. Both Sam and Stacey are won... view complete review

Helper: Andres Clavier Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: March 6, 2018
Stacey and Sam's story of following their dream and leaving everything behind... view complete review

Helper: Amy Thorman Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: November 26, 2017
I stayed with Sam, Stacey and Beau in September this year, and although my st... view complete review

Helper: Alex Law Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: November 25, 2017
This was my first helpx and was everything I could have hoped for! The work w... view complete review

Helper: Robert Ingall Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 2, 2016
Hi guys, only four stars 'cos five has to be perfect and my 'happy place' is ... view complete review

Helper: Yaniv and Patricia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Israel Date: March 8, 2016
We stayed with Stacey, Sam and Beau for almost a month and it was great. It w... view complete review

Helper: Abel Pearson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: February 17, 2016
I found everything I was looking for at La Jacaranda - a interesting earth bu... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use