help exchange   Host 41348
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Los Silos
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/2
Persons: 15
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 41348
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 30, 2020

I don't want to sing my own ecological praises and drop buzzwords like 'project' - it's just me, but both place and lifestyle are exceptional: primitive, low impact, very alive.
Since I live off grid without road at 1h walking distance into mountains and forest, a considerable energy goes into carrying, food to begin with; volunteers could enable me to haul materials, too. Then, at home, apart from keeping the house organized, which is also time-consuming the primitive way it is done (i.e. hand-washing), I want to rebuild parts of the house that are in ruin now, and that low budget with available materials. Moreover, cutting firewood is always an option. I like to hack with old technology and always appreciate donations of old gadgets, laptops, solar-related gear, electronics tools..
Generally I do live very low budget and could only rarely afford to provide for food, actually even it would be great if you could contribute some food here and there. If i am to provide food, one would have to understand that the standard would be the same as it is in my everyday life, that is basically rice and the cheapest (seasonal) veggies, supplemented by the booty of occasional dumpster diving. the garden may at times add more: oranges, cabbagge, avocadoes, mainly. But then I am totally open with the other factors: there are no obligatory work hours, and provided we can get along fairly, you can stay as long as you want. Actually it would make sense to stay a few weeks at least, since my rhythm is slow life, and it will take time to settle you in before larger work projects begin making sense.
Off grid, slow life, very low budget living in a nature reserve, hosting travellers, gardening, connecting with botanists, watching birds. My first home ever, and that only a house I squat in an abandoned village, after over a decade of (also very-low-budget) travelling. I hope for a world where people travel slowly, and time & attitude are more important than money and exciting experiences. Strictly no drugs and alcohol. Smoking nicotine outdoors is ok.
Located in a nature park at 1h walking distance from civilization, shops, bus strops etc., so good for hiking, enjoying life away from all, retreat- or Robinson style, fascinating biodiversity, great to meditate. Place has earned enthousiastic references on hospitality exchange networks over the last 5 years, be warned, though, that a less-than-5%-fraction find the place too poor/simple/not clean enough.
Accomodation is very simple: It's a foam mattress on the floor in my 1 room cottage, a number of synthetic wool blankets I do have. Think Camping, but with a house.


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use