help exchange   Host 41718
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41718
Country: Greece

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 17, 2018

Large seaside property on the island of Milos in the South Aegean.
Unspoiled Natura 2000 area in the bay, 15 kms of good access road from nearest harbour town . About 150 olive trees, and about 20000 sq.m. of arable land, some beekeeping.

Land has never been sprayed or chemically fertilized. Modest supply of water from wells.
I'm a semi retired dentist looking to revive this old family estate that has been long neglected.
There are several old buildings and stone fences that require constant maintenance, plus farming work.
A few goats and sheep, some beekeeping.
Residing in the land is my mother ( in her nineties) with her helper and her two dogs. I travel back and forth for the time being.
We are looking for :
-help in the house, cooking, cleaning.
-people with restoration skills, masonry, carpentry, general maintenance.
-help with the land, olives picking, weeding, planting, pruning etc.
Seeking now
Couple for a minimum 4-6 mo stay in caretaker capacity. Early retirees would be ideal.
November to April, possibly longer.
Gardening skills, technical ability, driving license required.


NO drugs, only recreational use of alcohol or tobacco.

Languages spoken Greek, English,some German, French

We offer common accommodation , outside WC, kitchen. You should be able to stay at least 3 weeks.
3-4 hours work/day (not including time spent to clean own room or cook), 6 days /week no meals, but we may be able to make a small contribution.
Please do not apply if you are under 24, or without a few good photos of you, not landscapes, not your dogs, not your whole class.
Also, please give your FB link if possible. We want to know a bit more of you.
One last thing : we expect email replies within a few days. Delaying your reply more than a week can render our offer invalid, unless you let us know in advance.

I have many interests apart from my profession, and my mother in her nineties is a former conference interpreter, and author of several books of local interest.

The island is beautiful with spectacular views and beaches, a tourist attraction in the summer.

You will probably need a car/motorbike if you intend to fully explore the island, but you can hike and swim all you want in the area.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use