help exchange   Host 41812
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Puivert
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 41812
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 18, 2019

This is us. Our little nest in a big world. On the edge of a sweet French hamlet, in a green valley.
The land is co-owned by myself, my fantastic sister Vanessa, and my incredible parents. Apart from myself, the rest of the family are now based in the UK, leaving me with alot on my hands!
We have a large barn used for storage and as a workshop; a herb garden, a large vegetable garden, a berry patch, ducks, chickens, geese, a dog, cat and our neighbour keeps his sheep on the land.
This is our fourth year with this land and as such we are still very much in the groundwork stage, establishing systems and putting in basic infrastructure. There is a lot of work to do but it is varied and we do it to our rhythm.
We have also put on a local festival and provide decor and sound system gear for events. Last year we also made a series of short films with local talent. Some of our projects are listed on our website, www.naufrage.fr

This is a small hamlet community of mixed French/English speakers and to nurture good community relations we regularly socialise together. You won't just be with our family but will be a part of the hamlet too. And beyond the hamlet... you will be part of our wider community of lovely people (you get to meet most of them at either the Sunday market or the local beer brewery). Social life here is very busy. Friends are passing through all day.






We have various projects on the go and so there are opportunities for you to do lots of different things:


Gardens
1. Building stone raised beds.
2. Making compost tea and other healthy brews.
3. This summer is going to be dry so we are mainly just mulching resting beds.
4. Building a support frame for the Raspberries.
5. Build wire frames to keep the chickens off the herbs

Poultry
1. The Geese need a new roof for their enclosure before Mr. Fox gets them.
2. Occasional mucking out and feeding/watering.
3. Egg collecting
4. We need a new Chicken house building. One that we can walk into - like a shed.

Woodworking
1. Gates to construct and install
2. Fencing to be checked and mended if needed (keep the sheep out of the pottage)

Events
In Easter we are planning a photo-shoot for the Naufrage Project. On the 6th of April we are doing the Deco for a local village Cabaret.


We love having adventures and you would be welcome to join us on our adventures.
Caving: I am currently exploring the Cthulhu cave - its a 27km fault of incredible rock.
Climbing: Loads around here. We are members of the local indoor wall too.
Exploring: Every Thursday we do a full day trek. (unless its raining then we go to the spa :)

Our region is home to Rennes-les-Chateaux (origin of the Dan Brown Da Vinci code)
Bugarach (the famed UFO mountain)
Alet-Les-Bains (Where Nostradamus lived)
Cathar legends of buried treasure
and much more!

There are isolated valleys, swimming in rivers and lakes, dancing and relaxing in hot springs. The landscape here is pretty wild. And when we are not adventuring in search of lost treasure, we will be having BBQ's in the sunshine.

We are a pretty mix-European bunch with plenty to share and learn from eachother.



Accommodation


Accommodation in a comfortable, small mobile home converted from an old Russian army radio communications truck. It has one double bed, lights, a fridge, sink and radiator and is suitable for a couple. Phil's house has a shared bathroom and there is also a separate WC in the near house.
All your meals are with the family and you have open access to the kitchen in Phil's house plus WiFi (unfortunately there is as yet no signal in the Zil).
If you are vegetarian/vegan or have special dietary requirements (or you don't like our cooking!) you are welcome to prepare your own meals in our kitchen with the ingredients we have available. I do some vegetarian cooking and if your vegan I am up for experimenting a little more :)

For food - we can provide you ingredients for you to make your breakfast in the Zil. I can provide the Lunch which is our main meal. And then in the evening we tend to snack on leftovers or cook up something quick.

If you have your own camper it is possible to find you parking space.

Sometimes the yurt is also available. It is located a short walk out of the hamlet.


We ask for 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. Minimum one week stay.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use