help exchange   Host 42075
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St.a Teresa di Gallura
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42075
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 24, 2018

For those who do not like to read the more personal and longer text what down under, the main points in a nutshell:

-North-Eastern Sardinia, Italy, set in tranquil mountain landscape, surrounded by breathtaking valleys and forests – so we have plenty of free space of our own, 5 km from sea/next little village, 15 km from bigger village, 1 hour to the airport/Harbour of Olbia Costa Smeralda

-In return for a daily average of 4-5 hours of work, we can offer you lodging and board (healthy and mainly vegetarian). Of course we can be flexible with the arrangement according to your needs and interests. Alternatives, for example, could be to work less than 5 hours per day, or prepare your own meals, or work some days more than others - All suggestions are welcome:-)

-In regards of accommodations, we can offer you a bed in the guestroom of our home, or outside in a camper trailer or even a tent if desired – of course you are welcome to bring your own tent or trailer too:-)

-During the warmer months we can provide you with an outdoor kitchen, two outdoor showers (one of them working with a solar hot water system) and an outdoor toilet. During the colder seasons, you will have our indoor kitchen, shower, toilet as well as our washing machine at your disposal. -you can connect to our Wi-Fi by sharing some of the costs, and if you don't have a computer, we can find a solution there too

-along with the responsibilities of the property, we are looking also for someone who can take over our position when we are away – either alone or in company of other guests. We, and most of our guests speak German, but we frequently have Italian, English and sometimes Spanish guests as well.


Aloha friends of the undiscovered places on beautiful Mother Earth!!

My name is Mike, the first time I came on the Island 30 years ago, and 20 years ago I bought here this piece of land. Until then I had been more the kind of person who preferred traveling and discovering to fix the own roots in only one place. The worlds so full of beautiful places...

But then my wife and me decided to get children, and myself having grown up in a big city, I aimed to create for my children the possibility to grow up in a more natural surrounding. This way in Sardinia we found our personal way out of the Western World´s hustle and bustle, superficiality and reckless attitude towards flora and fauna.

From 1996 to 2009 we raised our two daughters, Shana and Nayeli, here, where they learned to respect the planet they live on. From 2009 onwards they experienced a more conventional lifestyle, when my wife and me divorced after 23 years of relationship, she went back to germany, and we collectively decided what it would be the best for our 2 daughters to not be separated from each other, and also not from their mother, nonetheless of course this has been a hard time for me, may be the hardest in my life.

Meanwhile Nayeli is still going to school, Shana in 2014, after completing her Abitur in Germany, realizing the fast-tracked, consumerism-based lifestyle isn’t something she wants to be a part of- at least not most of her lifetime - returned to here to her home. Since her return, she has been actively working and learning on our land, and starting to subentering into responsibilities for the "Generation Project" I started shortly after her birth.

With generation project I mean: we do have here 27 hAs, a landscape with endless potential, and we have here some different buildings, my original idea having been to live there in simbiosis of a big family and any good friends and souls who like to be part of our kind of "community").

- as far as the trial to describe our "how and why" in not more than a half book.....just kidding!

But coming to the main point, in this context you may understand this "little bit extra" what I told in some phrases

-since I came there, I've been looking for people who share our ideals, our way to enjoy the right balance between relax and work, who would like to realize own initiatives in a beautiful quiet place. to live together in harmony with natur. and as far as possible, self-sufficiently – we pump our water from our own well, in summer months we use solar energy for electricity and hot water.

We dont have any satellitar tv, for staying politically informed we often do stream on the internet or look documentations or movies selected on our own.

Regarding agricultural independence, we would really prefer products from own cultivation such as we have vegetable garden and some fruit trees (for our Little familiar Radius its enough, but honestly the rentabiliy factor, would be hardly to improve, on this for example we Would really like to work with you if you like), but wild herbs and Aloe Vera we do have in abundance.

Concerning time-span, preferably we are looking for somebody who is interested on a longer Time stay, who also is able to enjoy quietness and relaxing alone-Time - Occasionally I may be away, though it would only be a few weeks, this Would solve my problem of being locally bound year-round.

I mean... If you are motivated and reliable, eco-friendly, nature and environment respecting, interested in Activities such as horticultural designing, creating constructions out of wood, gardening, digging, seeding, weeding, pruning, harvesting... would like to participate in all of our activities, and Maybe Even Become a Part of this.. what do you Are waiting for? :-)

Some activities we enjoy include rock climbing, playing instruments, working out!!, yoga we Are Not so flexible in (attention there may be a joke), but still we like to learn new things everyday….. also from or together with you.:-)

You may wonder where this beautiful place is that you could call home? We are situated in North-Eastern Sardinia, Italy, set in tranquil mountain landscape, surrounded by breathtaking valleys and forests – so we have plenty of free space of our own- with over 4000 plants of various species that I have brought here over the last 20 years, from different travelings, for creating different ambientes here. 5km away is the town Rena Majore. There you will find a small grocery store, café, bar restaurant and beautiful sandy beach. 15km away is the city Santa Teresa di Gallura with bus connections all over Sardinia and larger shopping. Olbia is an hour drive, where the nearest airport and harbor is. Getting here will be no problem once you decide to come!

If you are interested and would like to get more detailed information, we can speak on the phone or Skype so we can show you the house and all the surroundings. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to this place we are fortunate enough to call home!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use