help exchange   Host 42126
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Turner Valley
All Year: April - October
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42126
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 25, 2020

Welcome to CoCreative Urban Farm!

We are 2 passionate gardeners (and kids) who have developed a small paradise near the RockyMountains in a little town called Turner Valley. The town is within walking distance to our house.We have large veggie gardens, fruit orchard, food forest, bees,rabbits, chickens, rainwater collection, a greenhouse etc. Barb is a Permaculture designer/educator and Hendrik is a builder. We have built our own (eco) house over the last 2 years. We are happy to share our knowledge with keen learners.

Our home is your home while you are travelling.We have both lived in eco-villagesin Australia, and both been WWOOFers in many countries.We know how wwoofers want to be treated since we havehad good/bad experiences as wwoofers! We will feed you well and teach you what you want to know.

You will be comfortable and integrated into our family life, and at times we also need some space to ourselves ~ we aim to make a balance between socializing with wwoofers, and having time out with our family.

Our kids will love to jump with you on the trampoline or do art with you (if you want).

What we need:

We are currently looking for people to help us this summer and fall with building & maintaining the current gardens as well as harvesting the produce.
Rain water systems ~ we may build a pond summer of 2019.
Building/Renovations in our house! Summer 2019.
The best time to be here is August and September as all of the harvest and processing of food happens. Not only will you be able to eat a lot of fresh fruit/berries and veggies, but you can learn how to be more sustainable by growing and preserving and eating your own food year round. Preserving is done by: fermenting, drying, canning, blanch and freezing,Our garden is at its peak during this time so you would have a good time here.
Single person possible, would prefer a couple.

Typical jobs include but are not limited to: feeding animals, cleaning animal pens, seeding up veggies, propagation for plant nursery stock, weeding gardens, (possible) working with the bees, herb drying, planting, harvest, and processing fruit, and veggies, food prep/cleaning up, making wine or mead, cleaning house, helping with kids, organizing, building, watering etc.
The best season to expect outdoor gardening work is from April-October. Outside of these months, it is impossible to expect outside work other than feeding animals daily.
Our place is often described as the best learning experience for wwoofers, especially regarding self-sufficiency with food growing and Permaculture design.
We work full days on our house and garden and expect 6 -7 hrs/day with 1.5 days off on weekends or whenever it suits us and you.
The time off on the weekend varies with what is going on and can be quite flexible.
If you are interested in hands-on learning, bring your good attitude!
We provide good healthy foodand can help with further travel plans if you want.

What to expect during time off

Daily swimming in the river during the summer.
Hiking in Mountains nearby - weekends.
Musical events nearby
Possible trips to local sites
Bike to Black Diamond (3 km) to see a super funky town with great cafe's and shopping
We will take you to any parties that we go to.
If you want to come ~

please email us as much information about yourself as possible.
We can't accommodate vegetarians without some difficulty as we only cook one meal for everyone. If you are vegetarian, and you want to stay with us, please be prepared to cook your own food.
Make sure you attach a photo if you don't have one on your wwoofer profile page. We like to see who it is we are inviting into our house, just as you would like to see who you are staying with.
You will stay in our trailer, our tipi, or our house or a bedroom in our heated garage, depending on the time of year you arrive.
Looking forward to meeting you!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DMVaE57oac

Here is an article written by someone about their wwoofing experience at our urban farm. http://www.coachingwithlucinda.com/single-post/2016/08/24/Urban-farming

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use