help exchange   Host 42236
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kawakawa
All Year: September to May
Area (ha): 93
Persons: 1 or 2 or 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42236
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 26, 2018

A very small scale dairy farm that still needs a lot of work to get it to its full potential. On farm I have 110 milking cows (lots of whom love cuddles) and 38 calves (who look cute and cuddly but are actually savage beasts lol). At home there are 2 dogs and 1 cat. The farm includes 23 hectares of native bush and one boundary is a river with a lovely waterfall with a swimming hole. Location is central Bay of Islands, 5 min from Kawakawa, 20 minutes from Ngawha hot pools, 25 - 35 minutes from Piahia, Opua, Kerikeri.

There are all sorts of jobs that need to be done. Calf feeding, cleaning, building, fencing....I can make use of anyone so long as they are willing to get their hands dirty and work up a sweat.

You must stay at least 1 week. I usually ask 4 hours per day for 6 days per week, unless you would like to work 7 days per week and I think you will be great to look after calves, then I'm happy with 3 hours. If you have special skills like experienced building or interior/exterior painting then I'm thinking about 20 hours per week. Obviously you'll be wanting to explore the beautiful Bay of Islands while you are here, so if you want to work all of your hours in 2, 3 or 4 days so that you full days for exploration that is absolutely fine by me, so long as I know in advance.
You will also be expected to share in cooking and daily house work. I have one double room or a twin single. For those that are interested I sometimes make simple cheeses.
Due to the size of the farm I need people who wish to stay that are capable of driving, whether it be a 4x4 quad bike or the farm 4x4 car.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use