help exchange   Host 42471
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cancun
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Half hectare
Persons: 10
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42471
Country: Mexico

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 11, 2015

We have bitten off more than we can chew. We work long hours in Playa del Carmen and stay there more than commuting the hour back and forth each way, to and from our place in Cancun. That schedule has recently changed, but has been going on for 4 years. We need your help getting it cleaned up.
We have 1 private and 3 semi-private guest rooms with beds and bedding. Bring lock for your private locker. Shared bathrooms & showers (3/3). Great food!
We look forward to meeting you, learning from you, teaching you, completing something with you and having you back again for help with general maintenance and for good times
What else ...
Cultural experiences! We like our experiences here and that is why we stay.
Our neighbors are mostly vacation homes of Mexican Nationals as well as international owners who employ Mexican and Mayan caretakers. These guys and/or families have been here for years. They are loyal and love to talk, teach and share and meet new people. A animal zoo within walking distance, they have a nice big pool, snack bar and horses to rent/ride. An hour bus or 30 minute taxi to fishing, scuba, snorkeling, dancing/party scene, beaches, ruins, shopping and so much more you could never get bored. 2 kilometers to taxis and vans that are a transfer away to the entire Riviera Maya, beaches, ruins, etc... Wednesday's go the the nearby colonia. They have a sale. It is like a flea market where you can eat and/or shop new and used stuff from private street vendors (cheap).
I have been living in this area for almost 8 years and John has 16 years here. We are happy to share information with you once we know your interests.

Cowboy John (53yr) is a retired cowboy from Florida. He likes it quite in the early morning, but the rest of the day he'll talk your ear off on his experiences and how too...if you're interested. Now for income, he smokes meats & fish at a beach bar and restaurant in Playa del Carmen. He serves large parties, knows what he's doing, enjoys it and it's good food! I am CC (51 yr), from Minnesota. I am a hairstylist and I also mix natural hair and skin products to sell or gift to friends and clients. I go all over Playa doing hair and nails. I also help John at the bar, making up his dinner plates on the busy nights when we have live music there. We like to eat well and enjoy good music, nice company and nature. We love to fish and be near the sea.
Our property is not living up to its full potential and we need help with the things we struggle with. It is almost overwhelming but I know where to start.
Our family also includes Tilso. He is our adopted abuelo (grandpa/86yr). He is Mayan and has lived here in Bosques del Caribe (BDC) for more than 30 years. He has a military back ground and he is energetic and knowledgeable about what surrounds us. He is a dramatic and fun, happy story teller. He takes care of feeding the animals on a daily basis and in our absence.
We live on only 65watts of solar power and use the generator for more power as needed. The water is pumped from fresh water cenote and is cool and clear. Days are mostly hot and sunny and now through February evenings the nights are cool.
The Rancho is half a hectare (1.24 acres) of jungle wildlife, peaceful, fresh air, domestic ducks, chickens, dogs and new(er) construction. The land is rough and rocky. We started building from scratch in 2008' so it is that new, with a few exceptions. We now have over 4,000 sq feet of buildings/covered surface. Bosques del Caribe (translation: Forrest of the Caribbean) is a private neighborhood about one square mile or approx. 640/700 acres. It's located on the inner edge of the Cancun City limits and 3 kilometers north of Federal Hwy 180 to Merida or 2km north of Avenida Lopez Portillo. Ave. Lopez Portillo is a Cancun main thoroughfare with frequent scheduled public transportation services. We are only 15 minutes to the Cancun airport, so, ya you'll hear and see airplanes. Taxi rates to the city or the beach will be about 150 pesos or $10 USD. Buses and collective vans will be 5-10 pesos per person, per ride. 2 transfers will get you to the ADO, which will take you anyplace in Mexico.
When shopping in the near area, a translation dictionary will be most helpful, if you don't speak Espanol well. The natives like and appreciate when you try to speak the language. Most locals have good sense of humor and help figure out what your looking for. We have a really good feeling out here, it is a good vibe all around. I have super cool neighbors who are helpful when they can be. The Cancun Tennis Academy is directly behind me and Ernesto (owner) is always inviting me and my guests over to play. Private pools are scattered in the area and to be invited only costs about 30-50 pesos.
When our rancho is organized and basic cleaning is caught up on track for maintenance and fixer-uppers are done to accommodate a better, healthier lifestyle at home for us (all) and we are maintaining well, we ultimately would like to prepare for the future planting an orchard of various fruit trees, gardens and livestock to progress towards a sustainable future. We like what little we know about permaculture.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use