help exchange   Host 42514
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Olympia
All Year: all year /winter -slow
Area (ha): half acre
Persons: 1 sometimes 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 42514
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2020

Stay well everyone and safe regarding the virus ... If it feels right for you to travel then lets talk.

Immediately looking for a long stay person to sell at a farmers marker and help craft jewelry in my studio... OR other projects.

Welcome to Olympia the capital of Washington state, which is about 1 hour from Seattle and 1.45 to Portland Oregon.

My home is a remodeled former old dairy farm house I call "Raventree Inn"... The Returning Center. I am located in the city yet placed at the entrance to a wonderful nature park where the cows once roamed. Enjoy the meadow, trails, and old growth trees and wetlands. You will feel like you are in the country when actually you are a half block on the city bus line and an easy 20 minute walk to downtown or the Bay.
There is a cool little bakery a short walk through the park trail that I recommend. You can sit outside at their garden tables, weather permitting.

A few things about me...I try and stay up on global events and have a love for world travel. I very much enjoy sharing conversations about science, energy technology, alternative medicine, travel, spirituality and health.
I have a small orchard and in the fall we pick and make Elderberry medicine. Normally I keep honeybees but they didn't survive the attack from yellow jackets which have exploded in our area.
I practice Kudalini yoga, and teach Medicine Wheel classes with a chakra matrix as a tool for healing and transformation. This nurtures my spiritual side though I am not religious.

My main line of work is at a local farmers market where I sell my handcrafted jewelry. From my home studio I design and kiln-fire Dichroic glass and also work with semi-precious stones.

I enjoy cooking and sharing mealtime conversations...but there will be many times when you will need to prepare for yourself a meal. I provide mostly organic food. I'm not vegetarian and do not buy food for vegan diet. So please disclose if you have special needs in this area.

Its beautiful here in the Pacific NW. I have lots of projects I need help with like the gardens, lawn care, sm and big repairs around the house.

Basically, Plan on 4 hours of help a day but occasionally just 3. I will provide you a nice room and 2 meals a day. You will have two free days to wonder. I will do my best to support you in your needs as well. You must be self motivated and happy to work alone most of the time.

Below is my current list:

STARTING MARCH -through JULY

~ crafting jewelry project.
~ prep and plant vegetable garden beds
~ April- sell my jewelry at our festive Market, This is only a two day a week exchange for Rm. for the right person.
~ mow grass
~ watering gardens
~ harvesting raspberries in June - Aug.
~ weeding flowers
~ morning glory and blackberry removal
~ Paint exterior of South side of house
~ stain fence
~ CARPENTER SKILLS +++ replace a window, remodel bathroom. build wood fired sauna + greenhouse

LATE SUMMER
~ Elderberry harvest - prep for freezing... Learn about the medicine qualities and how to make it.
~ ...spread ceder bark
~ help make jewelry

FALL
~ clean up gardens and plant some winter veges

INSIDE PROJECTS WINTER
~ help make jewelry
~ clean windows
~ small sheet-rock repair
~ replace tub for new shower unit

Please include a photo with your profile as I have done for you. Thanks...
It's important to me that you are tidy with all your use of the house. I ask you to leave all spaces as good or better than you found it after every use. No smoking in the house, however the porch is comfy with an ashtray.
My place is an AirBnB which I love to host. I do need quiet in the kitchen when I have guest as we adjust to their schedule.

Email me if you would like to help in the Northwest. Also its very important that you inform me ASAP if you are not committed or change your mind for any reason so I can keep that time open for someone else...
Thanks and Best Wishes

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use