help exchange   Host 42525
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Skibbereen
All Year: all year
Area (ha): 25
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42525
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 21, 2019

...We live in a very old farmhouse, which is under continuing renovation,so we have some dust and things that are not in the right places yet!
We have a small farm,with beef cows, a pig ,some chickens and ducks,as well as 4 dogs and 4 cats.
We try to grow seasonal vegetables ,and most meals are cooked from scratch wherever possible.We like fresh meat and fresh vegetables and try to avoid junk food. We are also almost diary free.
We live 3 miles from the nearest village, and are only 1 mile from a beautiful safe sandy beach .
We are easy going and quite laid back (most of the time !!)but things can get hectic,and depending on the weather, we could also be working in the rain!! this is avoided of course if at all possible! but after a busy day,we prefer quiet evenings at home .
We are renovating our farmhouse very slowly and also hope to make a new garden in 2019 .....so maybe your skills can help us reach our goals? It is a simple life,with no TV ,but we do have Netflix and lots of DVD's!! And plenty of hot fresh tea!
Volunteers would be sharing a room ,we have two comfortable single beds in the spare room with DVD/VCR .And we all share the shower room.(We only have same sex volunteers, as the room is shared unless they are a couple.)
Someone with good English and common sense would be preferred , and a genuine interest in farming,animals and gardening would also be useful.As would broad shoulders and a good sense of humour!!
Volunteers help in all aspects of the day to day running of the farm, the daily chores i.e.. feeding animals, mucking out daily ,washing feed/water containers,maybe some light housework, and weeding/gardening...other farm related jobs could be.. helping with fencing, picking stones,moving cattle, planting trees, chopping logs, or painting.
The working day may be long, depending on the weather and the task , but you will be given time off for yourself and time to explore the area. We will also include you in visits to a local market,nearby towns, and friends farms as well as take you to see the sights when time, transport and weather allows.
....So... If you think you can help with this and contribute to the running of the farm ,and garden and be part of the 'family' for your stay, and you don't mind sharing the sofa with the dogs and cats...then why not drop us a line and lets see where your journey will take you.
Thanks for reading this. we look forward to hearing from you, and welcoming you into our way of 'life'.
Boots,coats and gloves can be provided in most cases , as well as spare clothes....in case you are travelling light!!!

reviews (3)
Helper: Armin and Elisa Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 2, 2017
We stayed with Chris and Dee for one month, and this was our first helpx expe... view complete review

Helper: Stephanie and Tom Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: December 8, 2015
We had a great experience here, the atmosphere in the house was always positi... view complete review

Helper: Shizuno Amemiya Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: November 19, 2015
I stayed there about 2weeks. That was absolutely amazing! Kind people, gre... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use