help exchange   Host 42692
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Violet Town
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Town block + 168ha farm
Persons: 1 or 2 (1 room)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 42692
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 14, 2019

[We have moved since last accepting guests back in 2017] We are two women (couple) in early 40s, with almost toddler and 3 year old. We live with a very active Gran (master gardener and farmer and cook) in Violet Town. We share farm with farmer Carey who lives in his Carey-van at the farm in Warrenbayne. Carey is a very experienced permaculture practitioner and all round amazing guy.

We live in a beautiful house with productive garden (1/2 acre block) backing onto the lovely Honeysuckle creek/reserve within a short walk to Violet Town village. There is a separate bungalow with garden outlook and own verandah for help-x ers (bathroom and kitchen facilities in main house).

PLUS we have a farm 15 mins drive away in Warrenbayne - 168 ha which we are just starting up (on Serenity's family farm). We run a self replacing flock of Damara x Aussie white sheep for meat which we plan to direct market via the Open Food Network (an open source software platform and community that we started back in 2012). We are soon to process our first lot of lambs! We farm using organic principles and use holistic planned grazing (thanks to Carey!). We have big plans for the farm including silvopasture systems, moving the land into a trust and setting up a cooperative to support other people running complementary enterprises.

Help-x ers have an option to stay at the farm for some of the time (16 km south of Benalla close to Reef Hills state park). We have set up a 7x7 metre traditional yurt with a bed and basic supplies. It is off-grid with rainwater in tank nearby. It is very quiet and beautiful but basically camping.

Violet Town is on the train line 2 hrs from Melbourne. It is well serviced for a small town with 2 cafes, library, small supermarket, pharmacy, medical clinic, gallery etc In certain circles (!) Violet Town is also famous for its amazing permaculture farm called Murrnong, run by David and Cecelia.

We spend some of our time working on local food system projects and climate change and land-use research through our small worker coop, Open Food Services.

In general, we are not short of plans, rather hands to implement ;)

We have a lot of things to do and so can be somewhat flexible in matching projects/tasks to the skills and preferences of help-x ers ..

Although at least one person helping looking after the kids is non-negotiable! If you don't like / aren't good with kids this one is not for you! Also given this, references from previous childcare work would be valuable. We are also likely to require a few days trial period to make sure you are compatible/have rapport with our kids specifically.

Other priority jobs include:
1) Tidying up around yurt and hut at the farm and setting up composting toilet; hot shower; better functioning kitchen and generally improving liveability for future guests.
2) Help with pruning forage trees to supplement feed for animals over this dry period.
3) Installing compost toilet / shower / sink / screening wall on bungalow verandah to make the accommodation more self-contained for guests.
4) Help with marketing lambs / farm external comms
5) Some cooking, gardening and domestic help

20 hrs week (each if couple). Meals with us at least 2 nights a week. We will provide food (including basic organic staples and some fresh from garden) for you to cook for yourselves the rest of time.

We would prefer couple or 2 people travelling together (2 beds in both bungalow and yurt). We are very friendly but have our hands full and need people who are very independent / self directed / self contained.

Own car is not absolutely essential, but very, very highly recommended.

Look forward to meeting you :)

reviews (5)
Helper: Aude and France Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: December 1, 2017
WOW we could not have hoped for a better experience with Kirsten and Serenity... view complete review

Helper: Mona and Bastien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 24, 2017
We stayed 2 weeks at Serenity and Kirsten house and it was great ! We helpe... view complete review

Helper: Jasmin and Liam Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: March 9, 2017
We had a very nice stay with Kirsten and Serenity. They are welcoming and hel... view complete review

Helper: Sunny and Sophie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 24, 2015
nice place, close to the CBD ! We spent one week at Serenity and Kirsten's h... view complete review

Helper: Sophie Gabutero Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 30, 2015
Kirsten and Serenity are both such beautiful and welcoming people. I was thei... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use