help exchange   Host 42837
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring (April/May) 2020
Area (ha): 4 acres (1.5 hectares)
Persons: Singles or couples
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 42837
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 5, 2020

We have moved.
We were living on a 50 acre woodlot in the midst of traditional farm country in southwestern Ontario, where we managed an 800 tap maple syrup operation and a 40 hive apiary. We were also home to a few Canadian riding/driving horses, a couple of barn cats and a new puppy. There, we had two wonderful years hosting over a dozen HelpXers.

We are now looking for help getting settled on our new property; a lakefront home on Dog Lake, within the Frontenac Arch, (a UNESCO World Heritage Site) along the historic Rideau Canal System.

This spring we would like to have help replacing the deck. Other ongoing projects/activities could include: other woodworking, landscaping, cutting/splitting firewood and tending a few bee hives. We are looking for volunteers who would work in exchange for meals and accommodation.

You would live with us in our home, with your own bedroom and bathroom. Cooking is a passion here; we prepare all our meals from local meat and produce whenever possible and are willing to accommodate most dietary needs. The food is generally very good :)

We have both worked in education. Peter as an art teacher and as a school principal; DarylAnn as a teacher of science and phys-ed. We are both very interested in learning new languages. Peter speaks English, Dutch and some German and we are both working to improve our French. Jake - our Chessadore retriever - will be three years old this spring.

The nearest village is a 15min. drive and the historic city of Kingston just 30min away by car. When we are not working we like to relax on/in the water; kayaking, swimming, paddleboarding and fishing. There are hiking trails in the hills behind our home and some interesting cycling on local roads.

Although we are in a very rural setting we have a few luxuries at home: moderately reliable high speed internet, a large workshop, a well tuned piano and an outdoor hot tub to take the chill off/relax at the end of the day!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use