help exchange   Host 42873
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Holsworthy
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1, 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42873
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 27, 2019

Hi! :)
We are looking for happy, enthusiastic people to come and help us out with projects on the farm and house!

AT THE MOMENT WE NEED HELP WITH INDOOR PAINTING OF THE HOUSE AND GARDENING.

We are ideally looking for 1 person or a couple (2 friends would be OK too)
Some experience in gardening and painting would be great if possible.

There are always loads of different projects that need getting on with on the farm, Other possible jobs might include gardening, weeding, feeding and looking after animals, clearing brush, tidying, cleaning, painting, clearing brambles, building things from wood...!

HOURS
We ask that you work around 20-25 hours per week, generally 4-5 hours a day, for 5 days, but this is flexible depending on yourselves and the job. We are happy for you to work fewer hours in exchange for your skill level or for a physically demanding task.

Our Place
The farm is in a beautiful spot with rolling countryside, you can see Dartmoor on a clear day, we have woods and meadows and the fields go down to the river Torridge
We moved here 5 years ago and are slowly turning the place into a smallholding and wild garden.
This involves; restoring the fields to native meadow, planting trees, flowers & creating artwork around the place.
We have a big veg garden & polytunnel, 9 chickens, 16 ducks and 2 dogs, we have pigs in the summer, and oh yes... 20,000 bees!

Us
We are a family group of Grandma (Diana), Mum (Abi), Dad (Rich), our kids, Ash and Tia.
We are all pretty relaxed and easy going, love the outdoors, creating things and meeting new people.
Diana is a passionate gardener & Bookbinding Teacher, Rich's green fingers grow all our fruit and veg. Abi designs all the things we build onsite.

Eating
We will provide you with whatever food you would like for breakfast - Tea, Coffee, bread, cereal, eggs etc. to eat when ever suits you. Lunch, similar, sometimes we will prepare and all have lunch together.. Evening meal work days, we will prepare something nice for all of us, (Abi & Diana are both very good cooks). Rest days we normally ask that you do your own thing, any food you would like provided (sausages, veg, pasta etc)
We offen have BBQs by the river if the weather is nice.

Accommodation
Your will stay in a nice room in the main house and have your own shower. There is Wifi.

Getting about
There is Pub & Bus Stop within walking distance, with 5 buses a day to the local towns of Holsworthy & Torrington and beyond if you wish to travel further, we often drive into town to get supplies, or to take the kids to the beach, so you would be welcome to come along.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use