help exchange   Host 43087
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Perth
All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 maximum
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43087
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 9, 2020

I'm currently after someone with experience as a Carer, as companionship for my recently-widowed, elderly Mum who is currently staying with us. She is fully able-bodied but needs supervision (dementia forgetfulness). Some food preparation, light cleaning, grocery shopping, games, and outings (walks, cinema or whatever).

Sleeping options vary. One room has a queen sized bed, one a single if you stay while my son and I are away for holidays and respite. For longer stays, there is a spare single bed in the TV room downstairs, which also has a separate entrance. Shared bathroom upstairs, and one in the common space of the community as overflow.

Some shared meals and access to the fridge and kitchen facilities to In other words, part time home help in exchange for accomodation, part time house share arrangement, with access to amenities. I envisage eating together some of the time, having meals prepared some of the time, and eating separately when needed, too.

I'm after someone who is self-motivated, time efficient, good with kids (14 yr old boy) and the elderly tidy, doesn't need constant supervision, and has the maturity to negotiate how the house is respectfully used and shared. Childcare police clearance or references preferred

We live in a lovely intentional community, very close to Fremantle and five minutes from the beach. There are great opportunities to engage with the community around us e.g. twice-weekly dinners during the school terms. We have an onsite composting and mulching system for green waste, rainwater tanks to flush toilets, and a grey water system.

Being a community, there is also some common garden space and extra social space to relax in, as well as our private garden. Very friendly neighbours!

I look forward to hearing from people who can balance community-mindedness, and also be self-sufficient quiet-living and respect privacy.

NB I speak fairly good French and some German, a little Indonesian and Japanese!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use