help exchange   Host 43314
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Belford
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 180
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43314
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 24, 2019

Hi! I'm Natta! I work as a model & lap dancer but am lucky enough to live off the grid with my husband & mad collie pup where we also run a small woodland based business.

We work the forest to source timber from which we produce firewood, charcoal, and speciality pieces all of which we sell locally. We're a bit alternative, and although we run a woodland based business which we love and have worked tremendously hard for, we're also both free spirited creative types and enjoy much that life can offer.

I live with bipolar 1, schizophrenia & hyper-sexuality which in the past has had huge detrimental effects on my life. We've recently completed our self built off grid timber and straw bale house, and are now finding this has also provided new working opportunities as well as providing a lifestyle which has greatly improved my mental health. Living here, med free, growing food, working the woods, sourcing our own power & water, ditching my smartphone, all has helped me find a new balance in life & I hoped it might help other people.

We live 3 miles outside a small village on the Northumberland coast, surrounded by sea, moors, forests and hills. It is a truly beautiful area and suits people who thrive in and are inspired by the great outdoors. Running, yoga, painting, surfing, music and many other fundamental parts of life are all much enjoyed here. There are local busses that visit the larger market towns from where you can commute to Edinburgh and Newcastle (both have international airports.

This a great place for an open minded, laid back, quietly hard working, resourceful individual or couple who can bring their own personalities and skills and importantly - learn new ones. There's many projects planned here that we'd like help with. We are converting 2 shipping containers into a small recording studio for my husband as he also writes songs commercially for other artists. We also plan to open a small simple campsite for people who like to go actual campsites rather than housing estates pretending to be campsites!

We are about to start start converting an old van into your cosy woodland home, so if you come fast you can help build your own place! Accommodation will be in the shape of a van in the woods. It will have a wood burner, a compost toilet, a hot water outdoor shower & cooking area, a big comfy bed, as well as small indoor seating area for wetter days. Like our house it'll be offgrid and so important you're not expecting electric kettles, TV's etc. We suggest you read, paint, sing, have a beer and dance under the stars as we do. You would be living a simple life in a beautiful woodland surrounded by nature, cooking on wood or charcoal.

We are looking for a person or couple who would like to learn the methods we use for managing woods, making charcoal, producing firewood & milled timber to make special pieces. You must have a strong desire to learn these things & be committed to helping a few hours a day for a few days a week. Ideally you should have some skills to offer, we work hard & like others to do the same to get the job done leaving plenty of time to relax & have fun.

This is not a holiday, it's a lifestyle & not suited to everyone. But if you like this lifestyle, you will love it here & what we have to share! This is not a paid position as such but we will also provide food & for the right person a small financial reward will be made to help you get by. We're fair & honest people & look after those around us who show they get what we're about & want to get involved.

If you're interested in this & have a few months to spare, then drop me a line to discuss further & tell me why you should come. Would prefer to hear from people with a longer term commitment. Look forward to hearing from you:))

Cheers!
Kezz and Natta.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use