help exchange   Host 43525
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Leggett
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43525
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 1, 2019

Our small homestead is in the heart of Redwood country…with the eel river running close and great fishing to be had, walking and biking. This historical house was once a motel and we are turning it in to a Farm stay
Over the next few years we needs folks to help that’s where you may come in!!.

We are looking for courteous, tidy, creative, enthusiastic adults. To stay from a week to one month. We are just off hwy 101 not far from the coast and 1 mile from the river and redwoods. The Farm stay is 3 hours north of San Francisco. We need help with physical work in the woods and garden….We have work pulling invasive weeds, garden work from vegi's to landscape under our direction, juice making, pruning, digging, raking,house cleaning, watching our farm stand on property, help with our bread making and other projects. Plus possible cooking, cleaning but mostly gardening, and farming. Minimum age 21, no dependent children.

We always welcome helpers who have construction skills, as we need help with our tiny cabins we are working on for the grand opening in 2018.. . We require a recent photo of you and a phone or facetime/skpe call before we let you stay at our farmstay and references
No TV, but we have WIFI but only for web and email not for video or streaming/downloading .. We are 20 miles from a community center that hosts music from around the world and a great community.
We have organic kitchen gardens, flowers, orchard and on going landscaping projects. We have space for 1-4 people at a time with beds for each. Happy couple welcome no kids ...huge cliff to fall off
NON-DRINKERS, or VERY MODERATE DRINKERS, ONLY! Zero tolerance for alcohol abuse. This not a party place, nor a half-way house.
If you have issues, please sort them out elsewhere.
No pets, NO drugs NON-SMOKERS ONLY. We are very sensitive to smoke.

In exchange for 5 hrs. /day we will provide lodging and breakfast supply's and dinner (we take it turns to cook) we share about 1/2 the meals give or take. You can cook your own meals in your own kitchen that is provided, if you have special diet requirements let us know in advance and we can see if that is possible. We mostly cook a lot of home grow foods, make our own bread, soups, stews, pizza, lots of vegi's and meat once or twice a week at most. We have a Buddhist center across the road with morning meditation at 8 (if you wish to go we can ask)

We have a lot of fun here working on the land....very positive vibration required... we are working year round while we are removing a legacy of invasive scotch broom and other plants that need removing. We have special tools to help with work that must be looked after as they aid the work. The removal of the broom is to help create more places for wild life.

We work on environmental issues from the salmon to redwoods. The host also owns an art gallery and enjoys having artist spend time in the studio cabin if they are working on art projects.

If you don’t have access to a car you can accompany us for shopping in Willits, we have laundry on site and limited Wi-Fi. Cell Phone is “ify” but US cellular works here…and some time’s Verizon…no others cell service will work here at all!!!. Having your own transportation is a plus if you wish to have an active social life or explore. But we go to town 3 days a week so easy to hitch a ride with us, Their is no bus service. We can pick you up from Greyhound in Willits or Garberville or AMTRAX. Some times if you are staying for a while we can pick you up from the Santa Rosa airport where a shuttle from SF or Oakland airport arrives hourly.
Accommodation and meals for 5 hours work a day (25 hours and week)
Expect outdoor physical work, have good work boots best water resistant in the winter….it can be wet here…Jan till May.
Once again best if u have transportation and it’s not safe for children due to 200 foot cliff!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use