help exchange   Host 43614
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


ALMERIA PROVINCE
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2,500 SQ M
Persons: ONE
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43614
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2020

I have previously had wonderful Helpx lady's for periods up to 12 months. I am now, once again, in a position to offer this rare, quite unusual and very special opportunity starting from now.

It is suitable for a lady,50 plus years of age to 68 who is preferably looking for a longer term stay,in the region of 3 months or longer.The longer the better for the "right" person.

Four and a half years ago the host became a widower after 51 years of marriage which has resulted in this rather special housekeeping position in his luxury villa.It is aimed especially for a lady who is able to cook tasty,especially English style cooking of nutritious meals as, I have to be honest, the host is totally incapable of doing this! He is seriously useless!!.....lol

It is important that the helper is friendly and competent and able to use her initiative to perform all the normal daily cleaning jobs that a house requires. Always appreciate occasional help with gardening (mostly marble chipping covered flower beds and landscaped block paving so weeding and helpful pottering about only....nothing heavy and this is optional and most definitely secondary to the housekeeping requirements.

Must be totally honest & trustworthy and possess a friendly enthusiasm to help out. Hopefully a lady with no past baggage/problems who has an outgoing bubbly, happy personality and ability to enjoy all that living in a high quality villa in the hottest region in Europe offers. A daily walk in the stunning countryside with my loving and adorable female dog is also appreciated.

Great opportunity to join in the wonderful Spanish quality of life we enjoy here where there is quite a UK presence. A great chance to expand Spanish language skills with the locals as this is a community where we mix together, Spanish and English, as complete friends with the ability to attend Spanish classes in the area.

This position is most definitely neither strenuous or taxing and the helper will have copious amounts of time to pursue their own interests.

My home is a completely renovated large, quality villa with swimming pool, numerous block paved landscaped terraces which enjoy the most amazing, absolutely stunning, views down to Mojacar Pueblo, Garucha, Vera and the beautiful blue Mediterranean Sea beyond with the Cabrera mountains opposite.

The helper will have her own en-suite bedroom with, as already mentioned, plenty of available time to pursue her own interests. Wi-Fi Internet in this bedroom and throughout the villa. UK channels on new flat screen TV and en-suite bathroom. Fitted with Air Con and Caribbean fan. The aim is to give the helper a high quality, freedom filled, relaxed lifestyle so that the stay becomes a most enjoyable experience where mutual companionship is important, as it has most certainly been for the previous helpers who after departing have remained close friends.

The Villa is situated just a few hundred yards from the lovely traditional olde worlde traditional "white" Spanish village which is quaintly small but has restaurants, fabulous Spanish bars, supermarkets,bank with ATM machine,chemist and a well used gym offering reasonably priced monthly membership. There is an art centre specialising in painting and ceramics that you can join as well as a popular jewellery making centre. My previous helper (and now dear friend) joined a local orchestra, was in two walking groups and attended two separate Spanish classes.

Situated in the foothills of the Sierra de los Filabres, the whitewashed pueblo rests on the mountainside 400m above sea level with views that reach down to the Mediterranean sea.

Combining a stunning rural setting with a convenient location, the main road network and the motorway are just a 10 minute drive away and Almeria airport is approx 40 minutes away.

Clear mountain air, breathtaking scenery, peace and tranquillity coupled with a traditionally Spanish way of life are just some of the attributes that attract both visitors and permanent residents to this picture book village, attributes that have won the village numerous awards.

It is just 20 minutes by car from the glorious, nay the fabulous, 4 mile long beaches of Mojacar with hundreds of restaurants and just 25 minutes from Garucha & the Vera beaches. The National Park of Cabo de Gata is a short drive away as is the only desert in Europe, the Tabernas Desert, where so many famous films have been, and currently still being, made.

The helper I am seeking is able to perform as a housekeeper where being friends makes for the friendly, platonic companionship I am hoping for. As you will imagine it is a lonely life for the host being on ones own in such a large villa.

The position is on a no payment basis where the helper gives approx 5 hours a day of her time 5 days a week in return for her own accommodation and all food provided. The importance of cooking good evening meals has to be stressed.She will find that she has an abundance of personal time to enjoy the fantastic, friendly and convivial lifestyle in this amazing village. It is NOTHING like life on the Costa's for this is the REAL and GENUINE Spain.

My previous HELPX ladies are happy to vouch for me, answer your questions and confirm that everything is as I describe.

An opportunity exists to occasionally use the hosts second older but reliable car subject to the helper paying their own fuel costs (and any fines or damage they might incur!) for her use. This fantastic opportunity gives the helper "wheels" enabling her the freedom to get around the local area as bus communication links are almost none existent.

If you think you are the lady who would enjoy this quite unique quality experience then please do not hesitate to get in touch with me by e-mail and we can discuss it further. I very much look forward to hearing from you.

A review from another previous HELPX helper: Helper: Francoise Roux LUDWIG
From: France Date: March 10, 2016

In May it will be 3 months spent with John in his beautiful villa, taking care of his house,and mostly cooking for him. John is a very easy going, kind, intelligent and a fun, charming man to be with. He enjoys a variety of food well prepared. If you are responsible and just get on with the job John is very fair. Just be polite and pleasant and you will have a great time. John is very appreciative and has lovely friends you may want to mingle with in the village, a very friendly place.

There is a fantastic view from the villa that would surpass just about anywhere and a lovely swimming pool for the abundance of free time that you will find you have if you take this lovely position.
___________________________

A review from NANCY SAMES who was a wonderful helper who stayed with me from September 2017 to April 2018.

"I rate my stay as 5 stars. I had the good fortune to spend 6 months with John in his beautiful villa in a small but lovely Spanish mountain town from September 2017 to April 2018. The villa has amazing views, a fabulous climate and a pool, which I was free to enjoy in my time off, which was plentiful. John is easy to get on with, makes no extraordinary demands other than what you have read in his profile. The villa is easy to clean, John is easy to cook for, loving traditional English food but also happy to branch out and try different cuisines. His gorgeous female dog loves to go "walkies" and taking her out is a good way to explore the area. John will take you to local functions, bars or indeed a restaurant from time to time as his guest which can also help you to integrate into the friendly community. I cannot express enough how grateful I was to have had the opportunity to be in this lovely area of Spain and doing what I love best, housekeeping and walking. From making friends through my time there, this year I have had another opportunity through HelpX, to spend a few months nearby - what a wonderful life. Thank you John."

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use