help exchange   Host 43681
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Perth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.21
Persons: 1, couple, family
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 43681
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2020

Our property is half jarrah forest and half orchard/vegetable garden.

The forest has an amazing variety of wildflowers and native animals. The orchard includes pears, apples, plums, apricots, kiwi fruit, boysenberries, oranges and pomegranates. We also grow some Australian native foods for example macadamias, native spices, native spinach and native root vegetables.

We have chickens, ducks, geese, as well as plenty of visiting kangaroos and bandicoots. Steve knows a lot about Australian plants and animals and is happy to teach you about them if you are interested. We are interested in sustainability and permaculture and try to apply these principles to the way we manage our land.

We need help with maintaining the vegetable garden and fruit trees (sowing seeds, weeding, harvesting, pruning) and general property maintenance (repairing holes in our driveway, raking leaves, stacking firewood etc). You may also help in the kitchen with preserving the fruit we harvest. There is a local market that we are involved with and you may be asked to assist with that as well. We expect 4 hours of work a day and making dinner once a week in return for accommodation and food. Accommodation is in your own semi-self contained room with an ensuite. We would like Helpers to have their own health/travel insurance.

There are lots of lovely hiking trails in the area and we are close to two large lakes. We are 5kms (or a 40 minute walk) from the regional centre of Armadale where there is a train to the city of Perth.

We speak a little German as we lived in the south of Germany for a while. We love meeting people from other countries and participating in cultural exchange.

During summer we can only take helpers with their own car.



Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use