help exchange   Host 44093
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring-Autumn
Area (ha): 20
Persons: <2
Category: Other
Host ID: 44093
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 27, 2020

I have two properties:

1. "Elsewhere" a small lifestyle block set among tussock and schist tor country approx 45 minutes inland of Dunedin. Access is directly off a main sealed highway.

2. A small 3 bedroom home in Dunedin city.

I work from my town base part time (Conservation and Environmental protection assistance and advice to landowners) and spend as much time on my lifestyle block as possible approx 45 minute drive from the city.

That area is very dry with moderate extremes of weather - hot in summer/cold in winter.

My property has been largely destocked for 14+ years to enable regeneration of indigenous native plant species and as habitat for native animals. I run a major ongoing animal predator trapping project as part of that programme.

My cottage is quite small (3 bedrooms) but warm and dry. It is fully off grid (PV/batteries). Cellphone coverage is limited due to location. Internet only available via your cellphone.

All water is via roof supply (which can be limited at times throughout the year) so general awareness of "off town supply reticulation" is essential - ie water conservation is important!

I maintain a small garden there and fresh vegetables are seasonally available.

The area is very dry most of the year so fire is a risk - non-smokers therefore preferred please.

I have recently extended the cottage and assistance is sought in some landscaping and dry stone wall building associated with that. The vege gardens are always in need of some tlc too.

Am also VERY keen to develop some in-situ art works amongst the rock tors using wire mesh and plaster/local clay (or similar). So anyone with an interest (or skill!!) in that area would be most welcome to come, have a go and leave your signature in this special place!!

I have two very friendly dogs (Elsa and her pup Tor) they are Weimaraners and I occasionally graze a couple of horses (Kyla a Clydie X Arab and Box a Paint gelding) on my property.

The cottage and surrounds would suit someone looking for a few days break from the "rat race" where quiet contemplation is possible and time is measured by when one is hungry or tired not fixed by a clock :)

In town I am always happy to receive assistance with the flower/shrub garden especially (not my forte).

There I have ample off street parking available and shopping is readily accessible (supermarket 5 minute walk).

From my town base Otago Peninsula with all its wildlife attractions is a short drive away.

As I commute between my properties I would ideally prefer someone who is interested in spending some time at each place - they are VERY different!!

I am happy to negotiate the amount of work required for accommodation and meals (3-4 hours per day?) but would expect there to be plenty of time and opportunity to relax and experience both areas.

I have traveled extensively internationally and enjoy meeting and hosting people from different cultures.

I especially LOVE Asian cuisine but am open to any new taste experiences!! :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use