help exchange   Host 44336
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hunters
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 360
Persons: 1-8
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 44336
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 8, 2019

Right now: all applicants are welcome to email- Please personalize your email, no bulk emailing (it's rude).


Our brand new vineyard is located in Hunters, WA right on the bank of the Columbia River (Lake Roosevelt). We speak English and some Spanish, but we welcome ALL travelers! Area includes: new vineyard, forest and field. Some current projects include: painting the tree house for travelers, vineyard pruning, tons of gardening, milking the goat or hopefully a cow, feeding chickens, stucco on the chicken coop and constant construction and clean-up. We are wanting to paint our straw bale garage and house this summer, so much help and muscle are needed. Designs and art are flexible; we want your impute too! Long term goals are completing straw bale house and various alternative constructions such as a barn and additional chicken house with chicken tractors. Also, we now have a sawmill (woodmizer) and we will spending extra time cutting boards for a deck and building for the firewood along with a few more fences to keep the sheep, goats, and (maybe) cow.

It feels impossible to write all of our projects and summer goals down but I will give it a go, as I have noted quite a bit above. We also are striving to do more of the following: kombucha, kefir both water and milk, sprouting grains, making soap, making laundry soap, wild crafting- mostly mushrooms, berries, nettles, alfalfa, and clover - mullein. hoping for elderberries this year- fishing and hunting... using the pizza oven more for bread- sanding and painting hot tub, painting chicken coop...raising eating chickens (8 week commitment) and raising our egg flock to 20. (raising 17 egg birds). oh, I'm sure there is more!


You need to be here for at least 1 week and long term people are welcome as well. Families welcome with serious communication and clear intentions first! A visit before you decide would be great! Possibility of pick up in Spokane/Davenport/Kettle Falls (if you are coming from Canada) if needed. Work is 6 hours a day and your weekends are free, usually Monday and Tuesday. Food: We will be eating simple and local foods, largely from the garden or food storage, dependent on the season. We strive to not open a can from the store! Omnivore, but vegetarian possible. Meals are prepped, eaten, and cleaned up together (not part of 6 hours). If you have strict diet preference, you need to be greatly involved with food prep as it is difficult but not impossible to tailor meals to everyone.

Activities in the area: borrowing our canoe to camp along the lake or bikes, swimming, hiking, fishing, visiting neighbors or the local pub and library which has internet. Availability is March to November and lodging is in your tent or under the stars in your hammock or in the newly completed tree house!?

About us: We are 5, with Henry just turning five in Feb 2018 and newborn twin girls. We've been building and developing our house and vineyard for 6 years now after a series of long term traveling. We also joint venture with Leah's parents, so you'll get to meet more people in the community as well. As ex-WWOOFers (culture exchange), we are excited to continue this community of knowledge and learn from each other in a parallel way.

We feel like we have a few rules because of a few silly WWOOFers. There are no exceptions to these rules and those that can not follow them will be asked to leave immediately. Please understand this clearly if you do not have your own car, you will need to arrange exiting transportation if leaving due to the following:

NO Smoking cigarettes/cigars.
Casual. VERY casual (rare) pot smoking after dinner and not in front of our child. We do NOT want you high during the day while working. (If you need to smoke pot every night/day of the week this IS NOT the place for you)
NO drinking until the work day is done unless initiated by us. (mostly initiated by my parents, they are a terrible influence ?? )
Do not be late in the mornings.We get so many amazing people out at the farm, so schedules and maturity are oh so important. Having people that we can depend on is critical to functionality. Country living is a bit earlier for most, get an alarm clock and mentally prep yourself to love the sunrise!
These are the 4 main rules that are not flexible. If these cause you to flinch at all, this may not be the farm for you. But if you can hack early mornings sober then come on down to the vineyard!



– please no scents as well. you are coming to a natural part of the world, enjoy it. Chemical/artificial fragrances are very offensive, please avoid.

– another request, no cell phone usage in the home or at the communal eating space…again… we encourage you to disconnect for the brief time you are here.

-food is available during meal times (there is always a lot and very nourishing!) the kitchen or additional building for cooking is NOT open for browsing, but if you like to snack there is a store just up the road and we can give you a ride!

– you are outside a majority of the time, we do not open the house up for lounging/ hanging out. We strive to be open in communication, have healthy and clear boundaries for our family time and break time. There is a covered deck, lots of woods, the waterfront and the tree house if you need a place to hang out.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use