help exchange   Host 44521
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Rawene
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 1 or 2 usually
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 44521
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 31, 2020

Tena koutou katoa!
Hullo everyone!

#Warning# ;-)
We enjoy working hard and you will need to as well. We like to host people who are interested in our way of life. We do most things by hand, even if it takes a while sometimes!

We live in a small forest with our children, animals, gardens and orchard. We grow most of our own food. Usually we have several goats, cows, horses, chickens and pigs. Our home is made from recycled and natural materials. It's small, simple and rugged like most things here.

My name is Amandine and my partner is Tyler. We are 37 and 34 years old. And we now have 2 energetic children; Rosalie (born in 2016) and Gabriel (born in 2019). I work at the hospital as a casual and at home I make cheese, look after kitchen pets and plant seeds compulsively. Tyler is a farrier and builds farm fences sometimes but our own farm and gardens are our main priority.

We always have a variety of work to keep you interested. At the moment we have orchard maintenance like weeding, thinning banana plants, mulching and some new trees to plant. Also lots of firewood to split and branches to drag. Then sheds to finish building and as always animals to look after.

Each day we work together roughly 3 hours in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. But times and schedules are never exact and depend on things like the weather, season and crying children. Sunday is your day off and sometimes ours too.

Guest accommodation is a cosy caravan with an outdoor kitchen currently (hopefully) under construction. We might ask you to cook one meal each day for yourselves (with our food) but mostly we will cook and eat together. Please come with biodegradable soap, shampoo and toothpaste etc because our water goes back into our gardens and pastures and we don't like chemicals anyway. We can easily cater for vegetarians but vegans or other diets may need to bring some of their own food.We aim to eat mostly what we produce or gather locally.

Our property is a mix of grazing and forestry with some native bush and large gardens. We don't sell our produce; we eat, store, ferment and preserve it. We also milk a cow and goat to make cheese, yogurt, butter...There is always gardening and firewood to do, and then building, fencing, forestry, and many other jobs on the list too!

We speak English, French and some Te Reo Maori, the indigenous language here.We love to share our life and work with like minded people interested in alternative / traditional life styles, self reliance, community, activism and good old fashioned manual labour.

Particular interests of ours include: Autonomy, diversity, ecology, permaculture, home schooling, eco building, earth building, animal traction (working horses), cheese, activism, seed saving, community, playing music, food security, anarchism, weaving (flax and hopefully one day willow), curing meat, roundwood building, games, barbeque, ...

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use