help exchange   Host 44531
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Innisfil
All Year: May 15 to September 30
Area (ha): 10 acres
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 44531
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 28, 2020

We are situated on 10 acreas of land in the heart of Innisfil, 5 minutes from the city of Barrie & one hour from Toronto.
We have been in operation under the current ownership since 1994. We offer dog & cat boarding; doggie daycare along with dog training in obedience. We also breed golden retrievers.
Having had a successful 2017, 2018 & 2019 with this program we are planning now for 2020; we are looking for 2 students (accommodation is ideal for a couple or 2 friends) non smokers, non drinkers, who have a desire to contribute to nature with strong muscles for the type of work required on the property. Placements can be short term (not less than two weeks)or long term throughout the months as listed. It is preferred the students can work 30 hours weekly. Please try early in the season to book for 2020.
Predominantly work will be outdoors working in the many garden areas on the property; we do work rain or shine. Duties would include landscaping, lawn & garden maintenance; refinishing the many wood carvings on the property; refurbishing outdoor structures & fencing; setting up the greenhouses for seasons growing & plant propogation. Enjoying the birds & creatures that make their home with us.
The students would be accommodated in a 24 foot house trailer; fully equiped with 2 double size beds, private washroom & shower; T.V. with an abundant supply of movies; refrigerator/freezer, stove, microwave, all cooking utensils & dining area. Meals will be provided that are either made by the owner or when students want to be self sufficient in their meal preparation they can be. Weekly shopping will be agreed upon so that if the students would like to enjoy a particular taste it can be provided as mutually agreed upon. Students will be expected to assist in cooking & after meal clean-up. The trailer is heated/air conditioned as required. Limited internet is available; Wifi available locally. Also at the trailer site there is an outdoor B.B.Q. The trailer is situated close to the main house & beside the outdoor swimming pool which can be enjoyed all summer. Laundry facilities are available at scheduled times.
For other off duty activities the following items are available; bikes, badminton, pingpong, darts, horseshoes & various board games. Also available is an indoor exercise room equiped with bike, treadmill, step master & other various pieces of exercise equipment. Fitness is encouraged. For the creative person some art supplies are available.
Located minutes away from the beautiful shores of Lake Simcoe, having a picnic at the sandy beaches is always enjoyable. Vehicle transportation assistance is available to some local areas; as we are but a few minutes from a major "Go" train/bus station students can independantly travel to Toronto to see the sights.
From a personal aspect, I have always enjoyed working with students from different cultures, I learn so much; I am originally from Scotland of Polish-Scottish heritage, & in my time I have had the opportunity to do some travelling in Europe. I know being able to welcome students to my home will in a sense allow me to travel yet again without leaving my beloved property.

reviews (11)
Helper: Fanny and Maya Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 10, 2019
We spent 9 weeks with Liz. It was our first experience with helpx. We did ... view complete review

Helper: Isabella and Ruby Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: October 30, 2018
I had the pleasure of staying here for 10 days as a solo traveller. It is suc... view complete review

Helper: Constance and Honorine Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 24, 2018
We spent two months here and it was the perfect place to stay to discover Can... view complete review

Helper: Francesca Trisciuoglio Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: September 17, 2017
I stayed two weeks at Liz 's place and it was a very nice experience.Liz is v... view complete review

Helper: Emilie Widart Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 30, 2017
I spent 9 weeks with Liz for my first Helpx experience and it was amazing! ... view complete review

Helper: Daniel Janzen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 27, 2017
Thank you Liz for such a wonderful stay! Liz and Jim are simply amazing p... view complete review

Helper: Charlie and Antonin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 25, 2016
We found Liz while we were with other hosts and it worked for a day and it wa... view complete review

Helper: Katharina Fahrenbruch Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: August 24, 2016
Liz is a wonderful person. I spend two weeks at her house and it was a very g... view complete review

Helper: Pothin lauriana Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 3, 2016
Hi I helped Liz one day. She is very nice and her house is so beautiful. The... view complete review

Helper: Alexandra Müller Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: July 19, 2016
I stayed only one day at Liz place because the lady where I worked arranged t... view complete review

Helper: Gabriela and Gonzalo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Chile Date: June 3, 2016
We spent 4 weeks with Liz and Jim, and it was the most amazing experience we... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use