help exchange   Host 44602
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44602
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 14, 2018

We are a community of 4 families living independently and sustainably in 4 low-energy converted barns with wood heating and renewable energy.
We have 5 hectares of land (half of it young woodland) which needs upkeep and have a small orchard and vegetable garden that needs looking after. We all have jobs outside of Cwm Maddoc and so would benefit from help with land maintenance. We have work days occasionally and regular weekly gardening mornings.
We are in a beautiful rural location where transport is slightly difficult (irregular bus service). Accommodation is in a wooden cabin which is off-grid (with solar power and running water) and wood burners. It has it`s own long-drop loo next door and the shower is a short walk away.
The surrounding areas of Herefordshire and Wales are stunningly beautiful with lovely walks, kayaking, wild swimming and cycling. The Black Mountains and Wye and Monnow Rivers are on the doorstep.
Summer life here is very sociable with outdoor spaces where we gather and eat together occasionally - and there`s the outdoor cinema!
We have a regularly used sauna and bread/pizza oven.
July 2018 - we are currently working in the veg garden and the poly-tunnel, weeding, watering, edging, etc. Lots of mowing to do also. Other small projects for those with suitable skills e.g. Woodworking, painting, etc.
This year we will also be offering AirBnB in a yurt that we have on site and volunteers may be asked to help with this.
As we are often out at work the position here is better suited to a couple or an individual who is happy working alone during the week. Summer school holidays and weekends are a more communal/sociable time.
Please get in touch if you are interested.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use