help exchange   Host 44666
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44666
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 12, 2018

I live now in a very nice city with a beautiful old town centre. Due to personal reasons we had to move from the countryside to the city, although Toledo is more like a big village.

I still have alive the spirit that has inspired Helpx and I still wish to share my place with people who are keen on meeting a young Spanish family with two children, a 5-year-old child and a 10 month old baby, and 2 medium size dogs, Ronda (a Pit Bull) and Chicho (a Mongrel).

We ask you to speak English at a native level and to spend your working time carrying out your tasks from 4 to 5 hours per day, from Monday to Friday. Some days might be even less hours, it just depends on our working shifts as we are both veterinarians. We are flexible 100% so we are open to other schedule options. Just let us know in advance. No smoking environment.

We ask for someone to provide some back-up on our daily routine, mainly taking care of our children Hugo and Saul, walking our two dogs, Ronda and Chicho, undertaking home tasks such as vacuum cleaning, mopping, dish washing, fill up and turn on the dishwasher and washing machine, tidy up the kitchen, cutlery, plates, saucepans, etc. Basically, just give us a hand.

We also ask for a person with common sense: please, do not take a thirty minutes shower in the middle of the night as you will wake us all up. It has happened to us, seriously! From 9 am til 9 pm there is plenty of time to take a shower and you donīt need 30 minutes at all under the water, especially if we are aware of the environment preservation and the water price in Spain. Itīs just common sense: use it!

It is VERY IMPORTANT to show initiative and try your best. Our experience so far has not been as good as we had thought because Helpers have been always waiting for us to tell them what to do instead of asking us if they could give us a hand with something. If you are kind of lazy, this is not your place. Due to this experience, we will only accept motivated helpers, with initiative and willing something more than just free accommodation in Spain. We only accept one person at the time.

We offer you a chance to get in touch with the Spanish culture from a very close perspective, accommodation (a bedroom just for you) and all meals included. We do eat all kind of foods so no special food will be cooked for anyone (just in case you have a medical condition). Letīs say you are vegetarian and one day we are eating beef for lunch, well, you are free to cook yourself anything else from the fridge but we will not cook a special meal for you that day.

We are very enthusiastic about languages as we understand how important they are to bring communication among different people and cultures. That is the main reason why we are seeking someone like you, just to share our cultures and to have a great experience.
I have been travelling since I was 13 and I have realized that language is a priceless tool. First Ireland, then with 21 in Germany as an Erasmus student for a whole year. After that I worked as a veterinary surgeon in UK for 3 years (Manchester, Leeds, York and Lincolnshire). Canary Islands for another 3 years after those "dark years" in England, and then back to mainland in Spain, first Madrid and then Toledo. Besides I have also traveled to New Zealand where I spent three months visiting the North and South Islands in a hired station wagon, South America (Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Honduras, Guatemala, Ecuador) and India with a hired Royal Enfield 350cc bike (Dehli, Manali, Leh, Agra, Allahabad).
I have traveled throughout Europe (France, Italy, UK, Ireland, Tallin (Estonia), Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, Holland, Belgium, Portugal, etc) and I still believe I have so many places to visit.
It is a deep feeling that hooks you to the need of discovering new places anywhere. Anyone who has backpacked this way knows what I am talking about.Feeling the itch to get out and experience the world is indescribable: you have to feel it for yourself.
Currently due to my recent paternity, I am more dedicated to baby caring issues which I undertake in a very pleased way. I truly think that becoming a father is, to my great surprise, the most exciting "journey" of my life.
Feel free to contact us for more info and for a first approach.
Kind Regards from all of us from the medieval town of Toledo, Spain.

Back to Top
Copyright Đ 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use