help exchange   Host 44797
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Victoria
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .5acre
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44797
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 28, 2018

Spring has Sprung and itís time to play in the garden!!!!

We live in a spacious, country home in a gorgeous, quiet area of Victoria one block from the ocean. We are a 10 minute drive from downtown or a 15 minute bus ride (bus stop located one block from our home). There are several beach access points to swim, kayak or relax, all within a few minutes walk. We moved into our home about 4 years ago and are currently establishing multiple food & flower gardens, building new food-growing structures and converting our garage into a professional art studio. My husband is also planning to rebuild his motorcycle sometime (it took a beating from here to Chile!) We always have plenty to do, so often you can decide for yourself from our list of projects. We don't work on a strict schedule but more day by day as projects arise. Some days are long, some are short! Our helpers should be able to go with the flow! Often the day may only consist of hanging out with the kids, taking them to the park while we work or working while we take them to the park! Dishes/after meal tidy-up are the only thing thatís always on the daily list- the rest we can look at the calendar and make a plan together around what we need to get done/what youíd like to learn in your journey.

We have two sons, Homer (3) and Cash (1.5). I am a stay-at-home mom, (former artist & jeweller) who loves to garden and cook meals inspired by our travels. I also bake bread, preserve foods from the garden and make lipbalms and salves from home-grown herbs. My husband is a construction manager and adventurer who has travelled to 50 countries! We have both had amazing experiences with the Couchsurfing website as both hosts and travellers around the world. Our neighbour's have been using the Helpx website for a couple years now and we have enjoyed meeting and hosting their helpers as well. We both like the idea of helping travellers, learning from one another and increasing our global community.

We enjoy exploring the nearby parks and lakes, camping, kayaking and movie nights together. There would be opportunity to travel along with us on day trips & camping in the summer. We hope to have helpers integrate into our community environment & feel like family; helping with various indoor & outdoor projects as well as help with the little guys, some housework and, of course, getting to know Victoria and the surrounding communities. Oh- and we have a hot tub so bring your swimsuit! :)


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use