help exchange   Host 45641
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pemberton
All Year: April 1-May 12, 2017
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45641
Region: BC, South Western

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 3, 2017

Hello nature lovers, outdoor enthusiasts, and travellers who enjoy good food! Come play in the valleys and mountains of British Columbia's Coast Range Mountains! Beautiful setting, local organic food and a family farm environment. I am an organic farmer looking for some help with childcare for my 1 year old daughter, Marisol.

ABOUT US: I am an organic farmer and am looking for childcare help for my daughter for the times when my husband is in school (April 1st-May 12th). My daughter Marisol is a joyous, busy 2 year old who is eager to play. We live in an rural valley that is a hub of agriculture and mountain culture. Pemberton, BC is located 2.5 hours north of Vancouver, one of Canada's most scenic cities, and 30 minutes from the resort area of Whistler, a world class mountain destination. We do not live on the farm, but we spend a lot of time there and would gladly welcome volunteers into the farm life! We enjoy sharing good food, being outside, riding our bicycles and meeting new people with similar interests.
Local activities include (but are not limited to) mountain biking, canoeing, kayaking, cycling, swimming, rock climbing, hiking, camping, hot springs, horseback riding, etc. and we would love to help support any volunteer in exploring these activities as well doing some travelling to other parts of British Columbia.

PEMBERTON is a wonderful destination for outdoor enthusiasts and we are surrounded by rivers, mountains and lakes. Surrounded by many provincial parks, and trails there are many local areas to explore on weekends, including hot springs, alpine huts and remote back country areas. Only a little down the road is WHISTLER, a resort municipality and outdoor destination for mountain activities. Local buses serve Whistler on a daily basis. VANCOUVER is a beautiful city by the sea, and has many museums, cultural events, good restaurants, funky neighbourhoods and lots to see and do. Local buses head to Vancouver daily. VANCOUVER ISLAND is also reachable for a weekend getaway and has numerous destinations such as TOFINO, VICTORIA, and many more!

Volunteers would have their own bedroom and a shared bathroom in our home. They would be welcomed and encouraged to make our home theirs and have full use of kitchen, living room, etc.
As we are located 6 km from town, there would also be bicycles available to ride into town, and the opportunity to explore other areas of the province on the weekends, interior BC, Vancouver, Vancouver Island with family car trips.
Meals would be shared and volunteers would be expected to rotate in cooking duties. All food will be supplied by myself or the farm. Produce and meat are all local and we will purchase and provide all other staple items. If volunteers require any additional items, or special dietary requirements, we are happy to provide them.
Additionally, there is the option of an additional weekly stipend if volunteers are interested in working more hours.

We are seeking VOLUNTEERS who must enjoy children, the outdoors and living in a rural community. We would require a single, or couple, who could spend time with our 2 year old for 3 days of the week. Volunteers would spend time at our home and at the farm depending on what best suited everyone. Additionally, occasional days on the farm on non-childcare days are also welcome if volunteers are interested, and can be on a more casual schedule. Volunteers would share in the cooking and the chores around the house. Additionally, they would be encouraged to partake in farm and community life.

A volunteer with previous childcare experience would be an additional asset, but is not mandatory. There is also opportunities to get involved around the farm if volunteers are interested, to learn about organic mixed vegetable farming and spend time with the field crew.

Ideally, I am looking for one (or couple) from April 1st-May 12th.
Volunteers should be responsible, mature, honest, self-motivated, hard working and possess basic fluency in either French or English. Both in our home, and at the farm, we try and create an environment of open communication, and would like someone committed to being part of our farm and family. In exchange we open our home to a kindred volunteer and look forward to having them join us. We are open, flexible and enjoy sharing our beautiful valley with others.
If this sounds like a good fit for you, please get in touch with us, we would love to meet you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use