help exchange   Host 45680
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45680
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

We are a friendly Kiwi /English couple, who enjoy having overseas visitors.
Itís a a peaceful and safe location, where you can learn about kiwi life & practice your english?
Required 1 physically strong volunteer for a maximum of 2 weeks who can assist with indoor & outdoor activities. Must include a weekend as this is when we work together.
Type of activities you may assist with will include helping outside with drainage, preparing the vegetable garden for summer. Planting and pruning trees, processing mulch and compost. Learning how to care for chickens. Also sharing in the housework. Dependant on time you may get a chance to help with various craftworks such as rug making from old clothes, paper & sewing crafts.
Our property is located in Whitford, in a lovely rural area approx 30 minutes from Auckland Airport, and 40 minutes drive from Auckland City centre, by car in non rush hour.

We share the farm with extended family in separate dwellings. There is horse grazing, beef cattle, alpacas, chickens cats & dogs on the farm as a whole.

Our home is small,warm with a log burner & very homely occupied by Ian an Engineer (Kiwi) & Stephanie a Nurse (English). Our HelpX visitor will have their own bedroom and bathroom. Check out our references from previous volunteers.

We ask you to volunteer around 4hr per day or 28hr per week, part of which must be at a weekend.We will provide you with all your meals and snacks. You will be expected to make your own breakfast & lunch with food from our home & share the evening meal with us. There is always plenty to eat !!

I like baking so there is usually fresh cake in the house & I preserve much of the garden produce too, so plenty of homemade jam's and relishes & home frozen farm produce. Im very happy to help you learn cooking & preserving skills.

MUST have travel insurance as healthcare is expensive & be a NON smoker , NO Drugs

A car is an advantage but not a necessity - We live approximately a 2km walk from the nearest bus stop which will take you to Botany the nearest town,you can go on to Auckland central from there. Stephanie & Ian can go via Botany 3-4 days per week so are happy to drop our helper off & pick them up in Botany on their way home. There is also a ferry to the CBD about 4km away. We do have a bicycle you can borrow.

Our volunteers have visited the Sky Tower, Rangitoto Island & Maraetai beach by public transport on their days off & with their own car Piha,Raglan & Hamilton. One keen visitor travelled around Waiheke Island with our bike.
If this sounds like you or you wish to know more please get in touch


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use