help exchange   Host 46076
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46076
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2019

We are a family of four, Simon, Josie and our two boys. We are situated in the beautiful Yarra Valley, with views over the mountains. On our farm we grow a wide range of bio-dynamic fruit, nuts and veg including chestnuts, walnuts, nashis, avocados, strawberries, free range eggs and a mixed home orchard and vegetable garden. We are in the process of designing and developing the property at the moment.

We are currently building our farm shed (out of recycled materials) so will need help framing, cladding, and building barn doors. We are concentrating on cleaning up the property (clearing blackberry) and deer proof fencing our boundary. We need odd jobs done around the house, the home garden and home orchard. We are also continually collecting and storing fire wood. We are preparing areas for berry production, so there is work mulching/tree removal. We have just planted avocado trees that need to be mulched and watered. Strawberry plants are producing now and we will need to pick and pack. We have 200 chickens (9 weeks old) for free range egg production as part of our system. They will need daily care and attention as well as their guard dog Eddie. A variety of job areas and plenty of work to be done at the moment.

We are also designing and planning a sustainable rennovation of our house and welcome any skills in solar passive/sustainable design.

Accomodation is in our home in a Queen sized bed (please see picture) with reliable wifi. All meals are included. You will be very much part of our family life. We have had Wwwoofers and HelpX guests before, which has been a great experience for everyone involved. Next door is HelpX farm (host number 32061), who are my (Josie) parents. So occasionally help may be needed on either property.

We look forward to hearing from you.
Space will be available from 21st October.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use