help exchange   Host 46117
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Toronto
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .12
Persons: 1 to 2.
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46117
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 13, 2020

Due to the ongoing issues with COVID-19, we are suspending any homestays until further notice. We have an elderly relative staying here, and cannot take any chances. We wish everyone health, and happy travels in the meantime.

We are a light hearted couple who live in Richmond Hill, Ontario. We love to cook, and enjoy learning new things from travellers. We offer a comfy room with walk in closet, flat screen Apple Tv, desk, and often a private bath, and a separate entrance. We have bikes to use in good weather, and we are happy to have you join us on expeditions to the city or country if timing is right.

We are a close walk to Yonge Street, which goes to downtown Toronto, or to cottage country, by public bus or GO train. Steps to a bus stop, hiking trails, two big ponds with swans, plus free concerts twice a week within walking distance. In the winter, the pond is great for skating on. Many parks, pubs and restaurants, and many cultural activities close. It is a beautiful and quiet area.

We look for mature, self motivated helpers, who are able to work without constant supervision. We usually host for two weeks at a time, but we are flexible. It is sometimes more or less. If you are looking for shorter or longer, we can discuss, as sometimes it just works out.

We are looking for inside and outside help. Cleaning and food prep are a constant, as there are many guests and things going on, and we also make glass art, and have a lot of things to sell online, scan, and organize..

Outside, in summer, we are landscaping, tree pruning, orchid care (we have many varieties of orchids we move and repot), and small building projects, weeding, watering, etc. We are fixing up a playhouse and some other property maintenance. If you have any skills in these areas, great, or if you are keen to learn.

Our house is usually quite an interesting mix of friends, music and dogs at times. We have a really freindly community, bonfires out back, and lush gardens and tall trees.

We usually expect about 4/5 hours a day, 5 days per week (25 hours a week), spread out however it best suits, and will feed you very well, three meals a day, and try to be helpful.

If you have a work visa, we can often find you some extra cash work doing things such as landscaping, painting, cleaning or similar.

We have a small red rescue dog named Mister Quivers (very friendly), so no dog allergies, and please no cologne or perfume, as we are allergic to perfume and cats.

We have helped many helpers move to Toronto, helping them find housing and\or jobs, and connected them with some great people.
It's a very big city, and we know it very well, and have many connections in other cities as well, and have found placements in many places for helpers who are moving about Canada and the US.

Please be clear about your travel dates, and if you have any dietary restrictions such as vegetarian. Please also have travel insurance, or medical insurance. Thank you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use