help exchange   Host 46121
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Murrieta
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46121
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 29, 2019

**** Now looking for new helpers! ****

Hi there helpxers,

We are a couple in our early 40s, members of our local community through our non-profit work in counseling, and an active couple looking for a single person who likes being part of a family and sharing experiences. Christi has recently become legally blind, so having help around the house is definitely welcome! We have two very active medium size terrier-mixes who love walks (and treats).

We are looking for someone (female preferred, due to our non-profit work) interested in housekeeping, regular cooking (keto specifically), and sometimes personal assisting with calendars and phone calls. We would love some help with the household chores (cooking, cleaning, laundry, cleaning out the garage, paperwork, using whatever skills you have), and daily care of the dogs when needed. We plan on doing a deep clean this spring and possibly a garage sale or three.

With a few days notice, we will do our best to pick you up at the nearest airport, which is in Ontario. If you fly into another airport, such as San Diego, arrangements can be discussed.

We are looking for a long-term helper who can give approximately 4-6 hours a day, 5-6 days a week, and we are flexible and want to give you time to explore. The work fluctuates on a daily basis and nothing is set in stone, and we will work with you to make your exchange here as pleasant as possible for all of us. You may be working alone at times or alongside another helper and/or the host. So being a self-starter and having a good work ethic is a PLUS.

We live in an quiet part of town a few blocks from the local shops and we go into the heart of the city of Temecula each day. Bus stops 4 blocks away can take you almost anywhere in the county. We are in close proximity to the beaches, mountains, and right between San Diego and Los Angeles.

Accommodations:
*Your room is furnished (bed with linens, table, couch) with access to the kitchen and living area, including Fast Internet Access/WiFi
*1 shared bathroom
*Access to laundry facilities
*Bike provided
*Possible help with sightseeing
*access to our library of thousands of movies and books
*1/2 mile from the bus stop, 1 mile from the grocery store and shops
*1/2 mile from a nature hike through a park
*Nate also practices guided meditation as part of the non-profit fundraising, so you can experience that as often as you like!

What we want:
*We'd like help for 4-6 hours per day 5-6 days a week in exchange for room, three meals (you have access to food)
*To meet people of different backgrounds who can enrich our family
*We only speak English, but are open to learning new languages, especially Spanish and ASL. We are currently learning French and Spanish.
*NO SMOKING AT ALL or Drugs (a beer or glass of wine occasionally is definitely OK)
*Being respectable of each other
*Making it a positive experience for all
*Please be able to eat meat.
*We mostly want active assistance in our daily lives. It is important to us that you enjoy your time here and we often have many things going on that you may join us in. Most of the work is self guided and at your own pace, we just ask that you contribute your share and clean up after yourself (A MUST).

You may explore the surrounding area hiking, biking or sightseeing. Activities available include: visiting Temecula Wine Country, riding a bike through the hills, taking the bus to Old Town Temecula for shopping/ sight seeing, hiking in the local mountains and parks - we can lend you our books and DVDs to read and watch as we have a large library, and visit the local farmers markets. Also we enjoy helpers who have musical talents and who would not mind sharing that knowledge with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions, concerns or for more information.
Here are some sites about Murrieta, Temecula, and the surrounding communities:
http://www.visittemeculavalley.com/
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attractions-g32764-Activities-Murrieta_California.html

You can also google "Temecula" or "Murrieta" to see about the surrounding area. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

If you think you would make a good fit, contact us as soon as you can and let's see how we can make this work.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use