help exchange   Host 46139
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Tobermory
All Year: April - November
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 2-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 46139
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 29, 2019

Help X Canada 2019

We are a 100 acre retired horse farm with a small campground (50 sites), at the tip
the Bruce Peninsula which is surrounded by Georgian Bay/Lake Huron. In total we have up to 400 acres of land on different properties made up of wild fields, dense cedar forests and hardwood forests. Our properties border with two National Parks. Our busy little summer village of Tobermory is nearby, only 6 kms. My family is 5 th generation from a family of pioneer settlers to this area.

Pets:Over the years we have had many dogs & cats that lived to be very old. At the moment we have 1 Maine Coon cat at the age of 18 yrs who still spends her day by the door to escape to outside. Recently we have rescued a typical young Redbone coonhound who has lots to say.

Our wild pets are hundreds of birds that visit our feeders during all seasons of the year. There is the random bear who wanders in, raccoons, skunks, and coyotes that do they routine checks. There is a variety of other small animals as well.

Travel to here:
The closest city is Owen Sound, 1.25 hours away which has Greyhound Bus service and Airport Bus Service from Pearson Airport, Toronto. Arrangements can be made for pick up in Owen Sound when we go for feed and supplies every couple of weeks.
Also there is only one Hwy #6, if you are driving. Hwy 6 continues by ChiCheemaun Ferry to Manitoulin Island and westward.

We are looking for Helpers that are health conscious, love nature, rural lifestyle and passionate on life. Most of our work is outside and requires some physical fitness,as well as lots of hiking.
You must be independent, trustworthy , flexible and efficient. Good communication skills an asset for other workers and around our guests.
If you have allergies, please understand that this is a wild area with seasons of pollen and different flies. As for pet allergies, they are not in your sleeping area.

Tasks: depending on your preference, skill and our seasons, they will vary:

Spring, Summer, Autumn.
- blend of landscaping such as tree pruning, mowing lawns, and weedwacking
- fields require lots of fence repairs and maintenance, some rock clearing
- firewood – chopping and stacking, clearing away deadfalls – chainsaw knowledge a bonus
- July is hay season – learn to drive tractor, hay onto wagons and into barns
- Morning & evening chores, animal care and stalls/pens/paddocks maintenance
- Forestry : Trail clearing and new trail creation to access the famous Bruce Trail is an important task for this year

- Help with outbuilding renovations, and there is always something that needs painting.

Horse lovers: grooming, tack cleaning. We have a stable with 8 horses in total on site (mix breeds with retired trail horses), and 3 wild horses at the second farm.

Gardeners : gardens- perennial and vegetable, compose prep, wild fruit harvesting (wines and vinegars), mushroom drying in autumn

Campground Help: April to Sept -rake campsites, sweep camping cabins, help with showerhouse cleaning

WINTER: Spectacular fairy tale white winter wonderland with frozen Georgian Bay– lots of area to snowshoe, and cross country ski. Village carnival in Feb. At times we do have ppl come but you must have an easy schedule for coming and going. Many times the roads are closed.

Firewood is the supplemented heat for fireplaces. Drivers license required. Private room – little apt in main house.

Winter Person: We are looking for a quiet, independent helper who wants to escape the city life for a while. Help with winter care for horses and inside pets,comfortable being on their own so we can travel away for up to 3 weeks. Also I am a writer and quiet time required to write and do research.

Winter Tasks: Firewood, animal care, feed birds, feeder and small repairs, painting ; March is maple syrup time

4 - 5 hours per day max.

Accommodation Spring, Summer, autumn: singles or couple - individually furnished trailers and Bunkie

(non winter season) Dining is either in our house kitchen/ or set up in a separate apartment area adjoining our house and team effort for meals and clean up. Basic food is provided – fresh and organic when possible – local farmers markets fruit,veggies, fresh meats– we are not a vegan property but very aware of individual preference and allergies to food. We do not supply snacks or alcohol but fridge/cooler space available – grocery store and liquor store in the village.

Staff and family campfire area.

There is wireless internet but no TV reception- only for DVD.

NON SMOKING

Placement : 10 days to 2 weeks, to a month and can be longer depending on the circumstances.

Expectation of work : 4/5 hours per day except during hay season, or busy long days with campers where the hours may be split but we take this time and adjust it for full day time off then you can hike some of the spectacular shorelines, or spend a day on the islands.

‘Make hay when the sun shines’

Activities in Area: we have kayaks, bicycles to use. Sandy beach (warm water) is 2km away, Boulder beaches (cold waters of Georgian Bay) 2 – 10 kms away. Tobermory is 6 km with cafes and bars, tourism ferry boats, 1- grocery store, 1 gas station,motels, Bruce Trail and lots of hiking routes, rock bouldering & climbing

Check out our website: www.harmonyacres.ca

Looking forward to having you come and help - welcome to the shores of Heaven.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use