help exchange   Host 46162
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46162
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 22, 2019

In March 2015, we moved from a Belgian city life to a smallholding in an idyllic area in the south-east of Burgundy, where we are keeping chickens, bees, sheep, producing organic vegetables and we're experimenting with growing our own cereals.

During the last couple of years, we renovated the house and received lots and lots of helping friends (and friends of friends) and we discovered that we love working with other people, whatever their skills are. Now the house has become cosy and liveable, our attention is moving outwards.

Anyone who is willing to help is more than welcome, especially if you like both outdoor work and to give a hand in the household as well.

You will arrive in a young family (two daughters –Madeleine and Toinette- and a baby boy Josquin) where we love to have fun, to be outside, to produce authentic food and to have a good glass of Burgundy wine with a nice conversation.

Accomodation is modest but good: you can sleep in a tent or in the barn, where hot water shower, water toilet and lavabo is installed. There is plenty of space to put your own tent/van if you want to. The food is great! Work is about 6 hours a day, Sundays off.

We expect you to live as you were part of the family: to get up around the same time as we do, to give a hand with putting the table and to keep an eye on the kids.

The main jobs in this season involve the garden and the animals. There is an orchard that needs some attention as well. We have a cob ^project running and apart from that, we have lots of small jobs in and around the house; some painting jobs, a LOT of trimming, some jobs involving timber, ... You certainly won't get bored!

We can come and pick you up at the train station at Cercy-la-Tour, about 6 kms from our door, we have bikes available and you can take a ride when we go to town, otherwise there is no public transport available.

Hope to have you over!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use