help exchange   Host 46241
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Port Clements
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Five acres
Persons: 2-3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46241
Region: BC, Islands

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 11, 2019

We are currently looking for 1-2 helpxers to come anytime in October or November 2018! Fall chores include firewood gathering, harvesting what is left of our gardens and bedding them down for the winter, as well as helping Tim with whatever he is up to in regard to construction or lumber organization.

The island:
Haida Gwaii in the fall doesn't get as cold as other parts of British Columbia, and we often have a lot of mild, beautiful sunny days throughout fall & winter. November is our storm season, but that is also when our surfing picks up, so if you're looking to hit the waves on your time off, fall is the time to come :)

Your hosts:
Tim is a certified professional faller and a commercial scuba diver; Marg is a registered nurse who works in the community. Our eldest son lives up on North Beach and works as a paramedic, our middle child is a vet student in Saskatoon and our youngest, Josiah (an artist), just finished high school, currently works with Tim and helps at home. In his free time you can often find Josiah wood-working in the shop, roaming around with his dog Talij, creating beautiful sketches, doing photography/cinematography projects - he enjoys having helpxers join him if they have an interest.

Our place:
Our property is a diverse little hobby farm. We run a local sawmilling/custom wood-cutting business as well as offer marine services with our 22-foot aluminum boat.
Our day to day life can include a variety of chores/activities including: cooking meals, firewood-gathering, construction, lumber sorting, gardening, yard/fence work, & caring for our two beloved horses. A helper must enjoy the outdoors to be happy here; preference is given to helpers with construction and yard work equipment handling skills. Also, we are hoping to connect with someone who is a skilled horse handler (natural horsemanship) and would truly enjoy being involved in sharing the responsibility of these two four-legged loved ones.
(PS: In reference to horse management, if a long-term placement is of interest to you we would very much appreciate connecting with the right person who is interested.)

Is our place for you?:
We love introducing outdoorsy, adventurous folk to our beautiful island! We expect 4-6 hours a day, 5-6 days a week in exchange for room and board. Our food is healthy, hardy--100% homecooked meals, and we welcome different culturally-influenced cooking if you are so inclined. Help with meal prep and clean-up help is expected on a day to day basis.
In your free time there are many beautiful places to explore and wonderful people to meet.
If you think Haida Gwaii and our homestay might be your kinda place please feel free to shoot us an email, or give us a call. (We really appreciate an old-fashioned conversation)

For more detailed information and gorgeous photos of the Islands including the amazing First Nations history, arts and culture please see:
We look forward to welcoming you to our Island and into our home!

reviews (1)
Helper: Briana Giraldo-Frendo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: June 7, 2017
I stayed with the Fennel's for just short of a month. They made such a huge e... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use